Review: Only Her

cover-only herTitle: Only Her
Author: Sandra Owens
Series: K2 Team #5
Genre: Romantic Suspense
Length: Novel
Available: 19th July

star_fullstar_fullstar_fullstar_fullstar_none


Former SEAL sniper Cody Roberts has returned from Afghanistan with too many demons and a simple wish: to be left alone. Working for K2 Special Services, caring for the war dogs he rescued, playing his guitar—that’s all he wants to do. But Cody is as protective as his nickname, “Dog,” suggests. A man like that can’t sit back when he realizes the beautiful veterinarian next door is being targeted by an unknown enemy.

Riley Austin is desperate to find out who’s poisoning her animal patients, and she’s stunned by her mysterious neighbor’s suggestion that it’s personal. But Cody makes her feel something else, too: a powerful attraction. He insists he’s no good for her, but those haunted eyes and that chiseled body tell Riley that surrendering to their mutual lust is worth the risk. And despite his conditions—no falling for each other, no regrets once it’s over—she’ll fight to love him just as fiercely as he’ll fight to save her.


Source: ARC from Montlake Romance via NetGalley

There’s nothing like starting a five book series right at the very end. To be honest, I read the blurb, saw ex-SEAL, dogs and veterinarian and I was sold. (Sometimes I am a very simple soul.) And despite this book being the last one out of five, I followed along without any problems. So if, like me, you’ve somehow missed this series until now, don’t worry – if you like the sound of this book, go for it.

I loved Cody. He has a lot going on in his head, some of which he doesn’t understand, but I loved the way he treated his dogs, Pretty Girl and Sally, and the whole tough guy playing his guitar in the dark to express his feelings completely worked for me. He’s also protective, kind, smart and sexy – and not too stubborn to realise he needs help, even if he only agrees because he wants to keep working with his friends. It doesn’t matter why he gets help, only that he does.

I liked Riley too, for the most part. She’s strong and determined and a brilliant vet. I loved her cats and the way she coaxes Cody into her life. Well, coax isn’t entirely right considering how she grabs his attention, but although the chemistry between them is undeniable, I really liked how she drew him closer emotionally as well.

The suspense side of things I wasn’t as fond of, partly because Riley’s obliviousness to what’s going on got on my nerves. Then there is the big obvious answer staring them all in the face. Since Riley has no self-awareness, I can see why she missed it, but Cody should have twigged sooner. It’s so obvious! As for the way Riley reacts to certain things towards the end… it’s not always about you, Riley! Grow up.

Despite my annoyance about that side of things, I really enjoyed this. The romance is a good mix of sweet and mildly sexy, has some good chemistry and plenty of issues on both sides. I also really liked getting to know the other K2 characters. They don’t really play a major role here, which is likely why I could follow along so easily, but it definitely left me wanting to know more about them all.

So if you like your romantic suspense to be heavier on the romance, you will likely enjoy this. Especially if beautifully behaved dogs and cute cats are your thing. True, the last couple of chapters were almost unbearable in their cheesiness, but overall this was a highly enjoyable read. I’ll definitely be checking out the rest of the series some time to catch up on all that I’ve missed.


Only Her is out July 19th!
Visit Sandra Owens for more details.

2 Comments

Leave a comment