Review: Salvation

cover-salvationTitle: Salvation
Author: Anna Hackett
Series: Anomaly #4
Genre: Sci-Fi Romance
Length: Novella
Available: Now

star_fullstar_fullstar_fullstar_halfstar_none


John Brown can never forget that he was once the power-hungry crime lord, Gabriel Leven. He’s carved out a calm life for himself on the island of Haven—sanctuary for anomalies with powerful abilities—even though he knows they don’t trust him. Then he wakes chained in a secret underground lab. He feels the ghost of his past threatening to rise and his only hope is a feminine voice in the darkness.


Source: Bought it

I wasn’t sure whether or not I wanted to read this book. Gabriel Leven is the driving force behind all the other books in this series, in a very bad way, and I just wasn’t sure whether I cared enough to see him get a HEA. Mostly I was just happy he got his comeuppance in the last book. However, since I’ve read the rest of the series I couldn’t not read this one as well – and I’m glad I did. I should have known, really, should have trusted Anna Hackett not to lead me wrong.

After a lifetime of being the bad guy, John wakes to find himself in a precarious position. Alongside him is a feisty, mouthy redhead and together the pair of them launch an escape bid that leads them through danger and darkness with some hot sex on the side. There’s action and drama and all the things I love so much from this author.

Okay, so perhaps things happen a little too quickly between John and Eve and some things are resolved a little too easily towards the end, but on the whole this is a short, sharp tale that finishes off this series in fine style. If you like a bit of sci-fi with your romance, or a lot of romance with your sci-fi, and enjoy a bit of action and adventure in the mix, then you should probably give this series a try. Or you could start with the Phoenix Adventures (space treasure hunters!) or Hell Squad (dinosaur aliens!) and discover the real reason why Anna Hackett is fast becoming one of my favourite authors.


Salvation is Out Now!
Visit Anna Hackett for more details.

Leave a Reply

