Review: The Immortal Storm

cover-the immortal stormTitle: The Immortal Storm
Author: S.D. Wilkes
Series: Sky Chaser #1
Genre: YA Sci-Fi (Cyberpunk)
Length: Novel
Available: Now

star_fullstar_fullstar_fullstar_fullstar_none


Don’t let them catch you, Kite Nayward.

Fifteen-year-old Kite Nayward has a deadly secret. He’s an Askian, the last of his kind. Hunted by the sky-ruling First Light Foundation he can trust no-one. To survive, he must stay hidden. But when a Foundation aircraft crashes in the arid Old Coast, and its strange and terrible cargo falls into his hands, Kite discovers there is nowhere he can hide…not even the skies.

The Immortal Storm is the explosive first book in an epic new series – an action-packed post-apocalyptic adventure about revenge, freedom and betrayal.

Ideal for readers of Philip Reeve’s Mortal Engines and Scott Westerfeld’s Leviathan series.

‘A beautifully realised cyber-punk world’ (Jeremy de Quidt, author of The Toymaker)


Source: ARC from the author

This book is great. I admit I’m a little jaded when it comes to “epic” new series these days, but this book drew me in from the first page and is action-packed right up to the finish. The world is clever and detailed, with a convincing history and a different take on the dystopian genre. In this case the world (I was never sure if it was ours in a far, far distant future or another world that had suffered – from the names of the shipwrecks, though, I think it is ours) is covered with a constant, furious, poisonous storm called the Undercloud – all except for one small area that encompasses the city of Fairweather and a bit of countryside surrounding it. It’s ruled and populated by the elite Weatheren, who also rule over the skies in their vast skyships. Everywhere else is wasteland, whether it’s the completely frozen north or the dusty deserts of the dried up seas.

Kite lives on the Old Coast, in one of the dead seas, spending his days scavenging on ancient shipwrecks. His life is one of watching and keeping hidden, from the other scavenging gangs as well as from his own heritage. The only person he can trust in his life is Ersa, the Waste Witch, the woman who rescued and raised him and seems set on keeping him in the dark about his history. All she’ll ever tell him is to stay hidden and make sure he never gets caught. Then the Weatheren ship crashes and Kite’s half-life is utterly transformed.

I liked Kite, he’s a fairly ordinary boy who happens to have a dangerous secret. There’s not much that’s special about him, except his survival instincts and his quick wits. He also has a bit of temper, but it’s mostly understandable considering the people he has to deal with and the situations he finds himself in. He’s a compelling character to follow and with so much always happening around and to him, there is rarely a dull moment in this book.

Combing a cleverly developed world with lots of action, this book also adds in a sprinkling of intriguing secondary characters, who are rarely as straightforward as they first seem. There’s also a quest and a few mysteries, not least about Kite’s people and the things Ersa isn’t telling him. Add in Ember as well and you have a book that is a delight to read. Also – flying machines! Decent ones! I love a bit of flight and this book definitely does not let me down about that.

In short this is a great, absorbing read that will keep you turning every page until you’ve devoured it. The characters are interesting, the action is exciting and the story unfolds at a good, steady pace. There are even a few good female characters included, though it takes a while for them to arrive. I can’t wait to see where this series heads next!


The Immortal Storm is Out Now!
Visit S.D. Wilkes for more details.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s