Review: Dragos Goes to Washington

cover-dragos goes to washingtonTitle: Dragos Goes to Washington
Author: Thea Harrison
Series: Elder Races #8.5
Genre: Paranormal Romance
Length: Novella
Available: Now

star_fullstar_fullstar_fullstar_fullstar_none


Dragos Cuelebre, Lord of the Wyr, needs to throw a party without maiming anyone. That isn’t exactly as easy as it might sound.

After the destructive events of the last eighteen months, the Elder Races are heading to Washington D.C. to foster peace with humankind. Not known for his diplomacy skills, Dragos must rely on his mate Pia to help navigate a battlefield of words and polite smiles rather than claws. With Dragos’s mating instinct riding close to the surface, his temper is more volatile than ever and the threat of violence hovers in the air.

Then the human spouse of a prominent politician winds up murdered and Dragos and Pia must race against time to hunt down those behind it before they are held responsible for the crime.

For fans of DRAGON BOUND and LORD’S FALL, the latest novella in the Elder Races holds passion, peril, political intrigue, and revelations that will change Dragos and Pia’s lives forever.

Dragos Goes to Washington is the first part of a three-story series about Dragos, Pia, and their son Liam. Each story stands alone, but fans might want to read all three in order as they will be released: Dragos Goes to Washington, Pia Does Hollywood, and Liam Takes Manhattan.


Source: Review copy via NetGalley

I love the Elder Races series. Well, actually, to be more accurate I love the Wyr, and particularly Dragos, Pia and Liam, so I was delighted to see there was a new trilogy of novellas starring my favourite Wyr family.

Fans of these three will likely enjoy this one because it’s essentially just catching up again. There’s lots of Pia and Dragos time (sadly Liam doesn’t feature all that much) and everything is all pretty cute and snuggly – with plenty of pows as Pia turns broody. Easy enough to do when your baby is growing up at light speed. Oh, and Dragos grows all possessive again. Although, when is he not?

There’s also a fair amount of political maneouvering, with tensions growing between humans and the Elder Races – hence the trip to Washington. This is obviously a deeper plot that will be explored not just in these novellas but the series, and has been largely caused by events in previous books, so this is really only a taster of what else is to come.

However, the murder plot is pretty weak and there’s no race against time, because both Dragos and Pia are distracted with a different issue. Also it’s fairly obvious, not who did it, particularly, but who the suspects will be, which made that whole side of things pretty anticlimactic.

So, if you’re reading this for a Dragos and Pia romance fix then you’ll find plenty to enjoy. If, however, you were intrigued by the crime plot in the blurb, then you’ll be disappointed. Personally, I love this pair so I liked this and look forward to seeing how the politics unfold in the next novella. I sense complications ahead – can’t wait!


Dragos Goes To Washington is Out Now!
Visit Thea Harrison for more details.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s