Review: Emergency Response

cover-emergency responseTitle: Emergency Response
Author: Nicki Edwards
Series: Escape to the Country #2
Genre: Medical Romance
Length: Novel
Available: Now

star_fullstar_fullstar_fullstar_nonestar_none


Running away didn’t solve anything … at least, not the first time.

Intensive care nurse Mackenzie Jones is no stranger to running. As a teenager she fled her family home, leaving tragedy and loss in her wake. Now, after fifteen years alone in Sydney, with the strain of working in a city hospital wearing her thin, she’s tempted to run again.

Mackenzie jumps at the chance to work in a mining town in the Western Australian desert – anything to lift her spirits. Though she barely dares to hope, she wonders if she might find the kind of love that can ease her loneliness.

In the outback, Nathan Kennedy is at a loose end. He’s been making money in the mines for years, and pressure from his family to return to the east coast, settle down and get married is reaching fever pitch. The problem is, he hasn’t met the right woman.

When Mackenzie turns up in town, there’s an instant attraction between her and Nathan, maybe even true love. But tragedy’s not done with Mackenzie Jones – the past is about to catch up with her in more ways than one.

Can Nathan convince Mackenzie to stop running, or is this just another tragedy in the making?

Perfect for fans of Fiona McArthur and Melanie Milburne.


Source: ARC from Momentum Books via NetGalley

If you like medical romances then you should enjoy this one. There’s plenty of medical drama scattered amongst the emotional turmoil, with plenty of terminology thrown about, so if you like that sort of thing then this should be for you. There’s also a slow-burning romance, some personal revelations and a really lovely look at the desert lands of Western Australia – which isn’t nearly as dry or as deserted as you might expect.

I enjoyed this one. Nathan is a nice guy, if a little aimless when it comes to the future, while Mackenzie is likewise rootless and searching for something to ground her. They’re both decent people, and I loved how Mackenzie grew in confidence when it came to her nursing skills. The pair of them together are sweet too, and I enjoyed reading about their developing romance.

However, this book has more endings than Lord of the Rings: Return of the King. Just when you think things are winding up to a HEA moment… we’re off again, another few months down the road, or in another location, or life takes another unexpected twist. There were times when the story started to feel a little stretched trying to accommodate the latest development as the characters were dragged on a little further. It’s nice that it’s not all over and done with – lust, love, marriage, babies – in a week, but I got a little fed up of happy feelings turning into a sigh because it wasn’t quite done yet, or rather the year-long time frame wasn’t quite over.

So it’s not perfect pacing-wise, but the characters are nice enough and the story itself is easy and enjoyable. The medical moments offer some a nice change in pace, but for the most part the book drifts along in an undemanding way. Yes, it’s predictable at times and unlikely to change the world, but sometimes that’s all you want. Want a medical romance set in the Outback with a good Aussie vibe and likeable characters – then give this a go. I wonder if a certain ambulance driver will be up next? I do hope so.


Emergency Response is Out Now!
Visit Nicki Edwards for more details.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s