Review: Unforgettable

cover-unforgettableTitle: Unforgettable
Author: Cherie M. Hudson
Series: Always #2
Genre: New Adult Romance
Length: Novel
Available: Now

star_fullstar_fullstar_fullstar_fullstar_full


My name is Brendon Osmond. I’m a 25 year old post-graduate student who knows three things with absolute conviction. I know damn near everything there is to know about keeping in peak physical shape. I have a plan to make a lot of money from that knowledge. I’m an optimist who’s not easily rattled. But then the girl I fell in love with almost two years ago texts me out of the blue and everything I know is thrown out the window.

Am I rattled?

No.

Not until I fly to the other side of the world and discover the girl I fell for has kept a very big secret from me.

A secret that mocks all my knowledge of the human body and how to keep it healthy.

A secret that shatters my plans for my own personal training business.

A secret with my eyes.

A secret who needs me more than I can comprehend.

Ask me again if I’m rattled.

Now ask me if I’m still in love.

Perfect for fans of The Fault in Our Stars and Nicholas Sparks, Unforgettable is the second book in the Always series that began with Unconditional.


Source: ARC from Momentum Books via NetGalley

Tissues at the ready, everyone, because this book will do its hardest to break your heart. If you read the first book in this series (Unconditional) and thought that was a tear-jerker – this one is worse. Or better, depending on your viewpoint. Personally, I loved it.

Brendan is an amazing character. I loved him in Unconditional, Brendon the Biceps who was so much more than his muscles. He’s a great guy, so easy-going yet somehow driven with his dreams of a series of gyms that he wasn’t afraid to work hard to achieve – while still having time for his friends. This book is told entirely from his POV and it was great getting inside his head, especially with upheaval he goes through.

And such upheaval! Two years ago he met and fell in love with a US student while she was visiting Australia. They got on so perfectly that he thought nothing of following her back to the States, his mind already brimming with plans. Except she dumped him and sent him home heartbroken – and he’s heard nothing from her since. Until a text arrives out of the blue. When Amanda says she needs him, he immediately books a flight, even though he hasn’t managed to speak to her on the phone or find out what’s going on. Because that’s the kind of guy Brendon is – he’ll do anything for those he loves, even those who have hurt him.

This book does such a good job of getting me on Brendon’s side, actually, that I really didn’t like Amanda at first. Normally I’m willing to hear both sides of a story before passing judgement, but Brendon’s such a great guy and the way Amanda handles (or doesn’t) telling him the truth is done so badly that I wanted him to get as far away from her as possible. And yet… yeah, this story got to me and Brendon’s own tangled feelings convinced me that maybe she deserved more of a chance. Maybe.

And then there’s Tanner. Oh, my goodness, Tanner. That kid is just wonderful. Every scene with him just overflowed with feels. From Optimus Prime to “s’okay” to just everything, Tanner is the heart of this book and it’s easy to see why Brendon felt so betrayed for being kept away from him, and likewise so forgiving and willing to do anything to stay with him. I also really liked Amanda’s prickly sister and the amazing Parker – I love that man.

Talking about this book without spoilers is tricky, so I’ll keep it vague and say that this book is emotional and moving, yet peppered with humour too. Very few things are achieved easily and even though the main action takes place over just a few days, it will likely leave you feeling wrung out, but in the best way. It’s beautiful and sad and marvellous and I thoroughly enjoyed it and its exploration of family and parenthood and how love doesn’t always lead us to make the best decisions. Overall it definitely lived up to its title and I won’t be forgetting this tale any time soon. I can’t wait to see where this series heads next – though I am hoping for more from a certain sister.


Unforgettable is Out Now!
Visit Cherie M. Hudson for more details.

1 Comment

  1. Pingback: Review: Undeniable | Book Gannet Reviews

Leave a Reply

