Review: Falling For Her Bachelor

cover-falling for her bachelorTitle: Falling For Her Bachelor
Author: Robin Bielman
Series: Bachelor Auction Returns #2
Genre: Contemporary Romance
Length: Short novel
Available: April 12th

star_fullstar_fullstar_fullstar_fullstar_none


When Navy firefighter Nick Palotay returns to Marietta to go on the bachelor auction block for a good cause, he expects it to be risk free. But when he needs someone safe to bid on him and his sister’s best friend is coaxed into stepping up, Nick isn’t prepared for the effect Cassidy has on him. She sends his mind to all kinds of dirty places…places his battered heart can’t afford.

Freelance photographer Cassidy Ware is in waaay over her head. She’s always been Nick’s other little sister, but she’s all grown up now and just a glance from him leaves her hot and bothered. Still, she can stay immune to his charms and keep him at an emotional distance because she’s got an agenda, too. She’ll help the too-handsome Nick with his charitable deed, and, in return, he’ll help her keep an unwelcome suitor at bay.

A deal’s a deal, but when their “business transaction” turns into more pleasure than duty, can they walk away from each other without losing what matters most?


Source: ARC from Author’s Pal via email

Since this story combines two things I thoroughly enjoy (Marietta and the books of Robin Bielman) I had little doubt that I would enjoy it. Throw in a bachelor auction and I couldn’t wait to get started. It’s been a while since I last visited Marietta, and although this book doesn’t really deal with the town (or it’s more well known features and residents) all that much, I still found it an entertaining read.

I really liked Cassidy, especially how she tried not to let her crush on Nick get in the way of things. She’s a nice woman, out to do a friend a favour, even if he is irresistible and delicious. Her deeper issues with men from her past were somewhat surprising, and I felt that she did get over some of her problems a little quick, but I liked that she was clearly a lot stronger and more capable than she tended to give herself credit for.

As for Nick… part of me loved him, for the moments where he hands Cass a camera and how he deals with her revelations, but other times I just wanted to smack him across the back of the head. The way he thinks of Cass at times irritated me. The repetition of her being his sister’s friend, even when he’s getting close to her and realising how much she means to him, did annoy me. Not to mention the way he knows how she feels, but keeps taking anyway, even when he won’t offer more. He’s selfish in a weak way and I did not find that endearing at all. Then he’d do something thoughtful and sweet and I found myself unable to hate him. In the end I decided he was just obtuse and slow when recognising his feelings, rather than intentionally mean, and I let myself enjoy it.

If you’re looking for a romantic read with a bit of heat, a nice heroine and a hero who has a lot of work to do – regarding his own emotions – then give this a go. Especially if you like Marietta, bachelor auctions and a woman getting the best out of her teenage crush. It’s sweet and fun at times, hot at others, easy and enjoyable throughout – just what I’d expect from this author and this setting.


Falling For Her Bachelor is out April 12th!
Visit Robin Bielman for more details.

Leave a Reply

