DNF: How to Manage a Marquess

cover-how to manage a marquess
Title: How to Manage a Marquess
Author: Sally MacKenzie
Series: Spinster House #2
Genre: Regency Romance
Length: Novel
Available: April 26th

DNF @ 25%


In USA Today bestselling author Sally MacKenzie’s charming Spinster House series, love is always a welcome guest…

Two possible futures loom before Miss Anne Davenport. The first option: sharing an unhappy home with her father and soon-to-be stepmother. The second: a life of independence at the Spinster House–if only her friend, Cat, would vacate the premises and marry the Duke of Hart. A well-placed whisper about the pair’s secret tryst might speed the course of true love. But the duke’s stubborn cousin poses an obstacle. A ridiculously handsome, very persuasive obstacle…

Nate, Marquess of Haywood, has spent his life looking out for the duke, hoping to stave off a family curse. The only way to keep his cousin alive is to keep him single. That means convincing the intriguing Miss Davenport that her lovely lips could be put to far better use than gossiping. Kissing, for instance. In fact, Nate is beginning to hope that Miss Davenport’s destiny lies not in the Spinster House at all, but with him …


Source: ARC from Zebra (Kensington) via NetGalley

I should have known better. The one thing I really disliked about the first book in this series was the behaviour of the two so-called friends of the heroine, Cat. Alas, this book is about one of those friends and, since it runs concurrently with the first book, we get to see all of Anne’s selfish, nasty behaviour in full.

She’s awful. I couldn’t even feel sorry for her about her father getting remarried, because I gave up on the book before her prospect step-mama and the boys had been introduced, when it was clear that she didn’t know them well enough to think so badly of them. Her behaviour towards her father is brattish in the extreme and I just can’t get past the way she and Jane treat poor Cat.

As for Nate… dull, dull, priggish and dull.

The plot as far as I read is essentially going over the same ground as events in the first book, which as someone who’d read that one I found really boring, and might prove confusing to new readers. I got to the point where the two of them met at the same house party and found my interest so low that I had to ask myself if it was worth continuing. Not to me, so I ditched this and went to read something else instead.

Sorry, but that’s me done with this series. If I couldn’t stomach Anne’s story, I definitely haven’t got the patience for Jane. Normally I hate stopping partway through a series, but I think it’s best for everyone if I bow out now.


How to Manage a Marquess is out April 26th.
Visit Sally MacKenzie for more details.

Leave a Reply

