DNF: Along Came Mr. Right

cover-along came mr right
Title: Along Came Mr. Right
Author: Gerri Russell
Series: – –
Genre: Contemporary Romance
Length: Novel
Available: May 10th

DNF@33%


Olivia Tyler loves helping foster children find their forever homes, but she’s still waiting for her forever love. Ever since her ex-boyfriend humiliated her on Facebook, she hasn’t been ready for a commitment. But on the night of the charity auction for her adoption agency, she gives in to temptation with a stranger who helps her out of a jam…and out of her bright-blue stilettos.

After the most mind-blowing romantic night of her life, everything about Max Right seems perfect: he’s handsome, chivalrous, and he’s about to launch an algorithm-based matchmaking app with an extraordinary success rate. But when Olivia finds out her mystery man is also someone else’s fiancé, no matter how much they seem to click, this romance doesn’t add up. For Olivia, unavailable means incompatible.

When a troubled teen comes to both of them for help, Olivia is willing to put their differences aside temporarily. But as the three spend time together, she discovers the truth about Max’s heart, and it just may be the key to opening her own.


Source: ARC from Montlake Romance via NetGalley

I tried with this book, I really did. I was tempted to put it down within the first few chapters, but I stuck with it. Sadly, at a third of the way through, I conceded defeat.

Nothing about the one night stand between Max and Olivia worked for me. I didn’t feel any chemistry between them and it seemed out of character for both of them, add in Olivia’s behaviour afterwards and this book and I did not get off to a good start. The way Max simply forgets to mention his fiancée made things worse and to be honest I didn’t like either of them enough to keep going. I didn’t hate them either, I just found them uninteresting.

The language at times was a bit flowery and over the top too. It was more along the lines of a historical romance, of which I read and enjoy a lot, I just didn’t expect it in a contemporary.

In all it failed to grab me or keep my interest. I guess it just wasn’t for me.


Along Came Mr. Right is out May 10th.
Visit Gerri Russell for more details.

Leave a Reply

