Review: Never Let Go

cover-never let goTitle: Never Let Go
Author: Allison B. Hanson
Series: Blue Ridge Romance #3
Genre: Contemporary Romance
Length: Short novel
Available: May 24th

star_fullstar_fullstar_fullstar_fullstar_none


Just one gorgeous weekend away from reality. Then they can go on like it never happened…

Riley Fisher doesn’t have time to chase after men. As a single mother working two jobs, she barely has time to eat or sleep. But a girl has needs. So when handsome veteran Sam Brooks asks her out, she decides she deserves some R&R. She doesn’t expect anything else from him—after all, he’s hardly the type to get serious.

Sam came back from Afghanistan lucky to be alive, despite PTSD that hits whenever he lets down his guard. His therapist told him to forget about relationships. When he meets Riley, he’s not planning on breaking the rules. She’s cute, petite, and a total smartass—not even his type. But she’s hard to forget. Especially once he runs into Riley and her toddler on a rustic mountain getaway and sees what he’s missing. Her kid makes him laugh all day. And Riley makes him burn all night.

Too bad a relationship is impossible. But they can enjoy the attraction. It’s not like they’re going to fall in love…


Source: ARC from Lyrical Shine (Kensington) via NetGalley

At first I wasn’t sure I was going to like this book. The writing style is kind of clunky, there are a lot of info-dumps within the first few chapters, the scene breaks are really abrupt and there’s a lot of glossing over things that happen. I struggled to get through the first few chapters, wondering if I wanted to use up my reading time on something that flowed so oddly.

Then something happened. I don’t know if the writing got better or I just got used to it, or maybe it was just that the characters took over and I forgot to care, but this book suddenly grabbed me and I raced through to the finish, absolutely in love with the romance. And I don’t mean the one between Riley and Sam, because as nice as that was, it was the way Sam and Luca fell for each other that got to me.

Wow, that kid is cute. Luca is completely adorable, it’s easy to see why Sam falls for him, but the pair of them together are just the most beautiful thing. I especially loved the “I’m going to work” scene. Just priceless. Not to mention the potty training. I am in love with these two – nothing against Riley, but she really couldn’t compete.

The adult romance is good too, starting off with a one-night-stand but taking time after that to grow. There is a bit of sex, but it’s mostly glossed over throughout. I didn’t miss it to be honest, I was too busy falling for Sam and the sneaky ways he tried to help Riley when she got super stubborn.

There several road bumps on the way to happiness throughout, not least because of Riley’s awful ex, but I also appreciated the way Sam’s PTSD was handled, not thrown in just as a background prop but as something real and painful that had to be acknowledged.

So despite the rough start, the characters completely won me over. I didn’t realise when I picked this up that it was the third in this series, but you don’t need to have read the others to enjoy it. It certainly left me wanting to know more, even though I suspect a distinct lack of Sam and Luca time will leave me a little sad when I read the others, still I think I’ll be catching up on the series when I get a chance.


Never Let Go is out May 24th!
Visit Allison B. Hanson for more details.

Leave a Reply

