Review: Wish List

cover-wish listTitle: Wish List
Author: Belinda Williams
Series: City Love #4
Genre: Contemporary Romance
Length: Novel
Available: Now

star_fullstar_fullstar_fullstar_halfstar_none


Could the wrong man on paper be the perfect man in real life?

Cate Harmon likes lists. While this may serve her well as a financial planner, her girlfriends think that creating a checklist for her ideal man is going a step too far. But she has one, and she’s sticking to it.

Cate has always dreamed of starting a family and settling down and yet she’s the only one of her close knit friendship group still unattached. But that doesn’t mean she’s going to lower her standards.

Enter Dave, a reformed bad boy with gorgeous hair and eyes the wrong color. Dave doesn’t tick any of the boxes on Cate’s list. It’s unthinkable that she would develop feelings for him, and yet … Cate finds herself being drawn to Dave in a way she’s never felt before.

Will Cate confront the reasons behind her list? Or will she risk losing a man who could be better than any list she could ever dream up?


Source: ARC from Momentum Books via NetGalley

I had no idea when I picked this up that it was the fourth (and final?) book in this series. Although it does standalone and is perfectly readable without trying the others, I do feel that I probably would have got more out of it if I at least knew the other characters before they were thrown at me. It might also have been nice to have seen Cate from someone else’s POV, since this book is all from her perspective and although I liked her, it’s clear she keeps a lot of things hidden from her friends.

However, I did enjoy this. It’s fun in places, surprisingly emotional in others, and despite Cate’s somewhat snobbish thinking at the beginning, I liked her a lot as I learnt more about her throughout. This book is told wholly in Cate’s first person POV, and I would have loved to have seen things through Dave’s eyes a time or two. Even though it’s clear Cate isn’t picking up on all his emotional cues, he is a quiet kind of guy and I’d have loved to have known what he was thinking throughout.

This is a story of friendship as well as love, and I wasn’t always that fond of Cate’s friends. Scarlett was funny at times, but could be a bit cruel, while the others clearly don’t know Cate as well as they thought they did. I think because I haven’t read the other books, I missed some of the nuances of their friendships (like just how long Cate had known them all, since apparently the other three had been friends forever) and wasn’t too keen on the way they almost pitied Cate because she’s not all loved up like they are.

However, this is also a romance, and I loved how perceptions were turned on their head when it came to Cate and Dave. He really wasn’t anything like she thought when all she knew about him was that he was a plumber. I loved how he quietly wormed his way into her life, though I’m kind of sad the “Later, Cate” thing fell away without notice. The pace is pretty slow between them for 2/3rds of the book, and then everything seems to happen at once. As happy as I was that things finally happened, it might have been nice if all the revelations hadn’t all landed on top of each other. Then again it led to a lovely ending and a fair bit of character growth for Cate, so it definitely has its good points.

Overall this was enjoyable. I liked the characters and some of the more unexpected aspects of the plot – Cate’s father and family, the silent support Dave gives without question. It has a nice bit of chemistry and although it is slow going for the most part, I never got bored and enjoyed it right to the finish. I’m a little sad that I came into this series right at the end, but I’m tempted to catch up with the rest of the books sometime – and if Dave’s sister ever gets her own tale, I’ll definitely want to read it.


Wish List is Out Now!
Visit Belinda Williams for more details.

Leave a Reply

