Review: Undeniable

cover-undeniableTitle: Undeniable
Author: Cherie M. Hudson
Series: Always #3
Genre: New Adult Romance
Length: Novel
Available: Now

star_fullstar_fullstar_fullstar_nonestar_none


Sit still for a moment. Close your eyes. Listen. Just listen. What do you hear? When I do that, I hear … fuzz. Okay, not really fuzz, but it’s hard to explain what I hear. Put your hands over your ears. Hear that? That’s kind of like what I hear, but not really …

I feel sound. Does that make sense? Being deaf in one ear and partially deaf in the other sucks. People think I’m dumb. I’m not dumb. I just can’t hear you. I’ve worked out however, people thinking you’re dumb actually works to your advantage. When people think you’re dumb, they don’t expect anything from you. And when they don’t expect anything from you, you don’t have to engage with them. I’m okay with that.

So why the hell is my sister’s boyfriend’s cousin, an annoying Australian named Caden, so adamant he wants to talk to me? I can’t work out if he’s laughing at me, or if he can see what I can see … the world is worth laughing at. What kind of name is Caden any way?

I also can’t work out why, for the first time ever, I wish I could truly hear the way normal people do. Surely it has nothing to do with the fact I wonder what his heart would sound like beating in his chest if I lay my head on it. I can’t work it out and I don’t like it.

Damn it.


Source: ARC from Momentum Books via NetGalley

So far this series of love against the odds has done an excellent job of ripping out my heart, stamping on it a few times and sticking it back together a size or two bigger. Telling tales of young Aussies finding unexpected love with young Americans, it’s given things a firm twist and produced some gorgeous love stories, so I was really excited to read this one. Not least because Caden proved himself to be all kinds of wonderful and heroic in the last book (Unforgettable), while Chase was just awesome.

So it saddens me a little to say that while this book was enjoyable, it was also only okay. Caden remained wonderful and gorgeous and lovely, with a minor touch of heroics, and Chase… well, she was frustrating. Although it was hard to get too annoyed with her when she knew how messed up she was and the mistakes she was making, at the same time that it was hard not to get annoyed with her, because even though she knew she was messing things up, she still went and did it anyway.

This book is full of frustrating moments. The things is, Caden is lovely. There’s no side to him, he’s just a good bloke with an amazing skill at making sock puppets (seriously, if anyone ever made me a Toothless sock puppet, my heart would be theirs) and rescuing dogs. Because of this, there’s no conflict from his side. Yeah, he occasionally does some silly things, but they only become an issue because of Chase’s issues.

And wow, does she have some issues. Understandable ones, where her father is concerned. Frustrating and annoying ones where her ex and Caden come in to it. I know, I know, hormones and emotions and the brain work in very strange and unfathomable ways and there needed to be some conflict somewhere in this book, but it’s all Chase, and it’s all angst and to be honest, it was all too much. I wanted to like Chase, and most of the time when it was just her and Caden I did, then the phone would ring and I’d want to bang my head against the wall.

So, if you like your NA books full of angst and daddy issues, give this a try. The love is pretty fast, especially if you haven’t read Unforgettable, and plenty of stuff might seem a little rushed. I found it okay in its own right, but as a follow up to the last book, I’m a touch disappointed and kind of sad about it. If you’re looking for a NA book with emotion and heart, go back and read book 2, but if you just want an angsty tale of the good boy and the really bad choice, then you might prefer this.


Undeniable is Out Now.
Visit Cherie M. Hudson for more details.

Leave a Reply

