Review: Ready to Were

cover-ready to wereTitle: Ready to Were
Author: Robyn Peterman
Series: Shift Happens #1
Genre: Paranormal Romance
Length: Short novel
Available: Now

star_fullstar_fullstar_halfstar_nonestar_none


I never planned on going back to Hung Island, Georgia. Ever.

I was a top notch Were agent for the secret paranormal Council and happily living in Chicago where I had everything I needed – a gym membership, season tickets to the Cubs and Dwayne – my gay, Vampyre best friend. Going back now would mean facing the reason I’d left and I’d rather chew my own paw off than deal with Hank.

Hank the Tank Wilson was the six foot three, obnoxious, egotistical, perfect-assed, best-sex-of-my-life, Werewolf who cheated on me and broke my heart. At the time, I did what any rational woman would do. I left in the middle of the night with a suitcase, big plans and enough money for a one-way bus ticket to freedom. I vowed to never return.

But here I am, trying to wrap my head around what has happened to some missing Weres without wrapping my body around Hank. I hope I don’t have to eat my words and my paw.

***This novella originally appeared in the Three Southern Beaches collection released July of 2014. This is an extended version of that story.


Mild spoilers and sarcasm lie beneath.
You have been warned.

Source: Free copy from instaFreebie

If you like your paranormal romances to be light, fluffy, on the funnier side and full of sex and sexy thoughts, then this book may well be for you. It’s easy enough to read, if a little obvious in its humour at times and has a habit of telegraphing all the major plot points in ways you can rarely miss, but it’s an okay read overall.

Just don’t think too hard about it, because in truth it’s all a little convenient and kind of irritating when you do. Take our heroine, Essie. Who, by the way, is beautiful enough to be a model, is strong and kickass, and has a sexy alpha wolf desperate to make her his mate. The trouble is Essie doesn’t trust him not to cheat, so she ran away from the island on very flimsy evidence, and became a super special secret agent and has made quite a name for herself in the agency for dealing with difficult situations. She’s built quite a new life for herself in Chicago too and is happy with the way her new life is going.

In a year. She did all of that in a year! She’s a werewolf, they have extra long lives, could it not maybe have taken her a little bit more time to get out there and find herself, maybe make a few mistakes? Apparently not. Contemporary Romances usually give second chance romances between seven and ten years for the protagonists to grow and change. Not this PR. Nope, Essie goes out and becomes totally badass overnight, while her alpha boyfriend stalks carefully watches over her from the shadows with the aid of her massively stereotyped, gay best friend.

Ish. I really could have done without Dwayne being so much of a cliché. I thought his friendship with Essie’s grandmother was brilliant, but every time he’s with Essie it was like gay best friend bingo.

As for the romance, well, stalking aside, Hank is… a complete alpha. He’s dominant and bossy, and exudes so much sex appeal that Essie practically falls over every time he walks into the same room. SO ROMANTIC, YOU GUYS! You’d think that if Essie was so very much in love with him, she might have talked to him about what she found out before she ran away, but let’s just say Essie isn’t the most mature heroine you’re going to meet. Or at least she wasn’t, because now she’s been away for a year she’s totally all grown up and is done with silly mistakes. Like, seriously. Really, really, she totally is.

But you know, it’s weird that these werewolves don’t seem to have a very sensitive sense of smell. Until it becomes a major plot point. Then they can smell. Being a werewolf you’d think that Essie might have, I don’t know, noticed that those women didn’t smell anything like her guy, even if they were covered in hickeys. I guess she was just so heartbroken and everything, because they were such reliable witnesses… or something.

Throw in the whole bad guy plot that is only just missing flashy signs and blaring alarms screaming CLUE HERE! to tell you what is going on as Essie misses the obvious, the secret genius wolf hanging about and a few revelations about Dwayne and Hank, and like I said before, this book works so much better if you don’t think too much about it. It’s light and fluffy and tries very hard to be funny, and succeeds most of the time, and most of all it’s a quick, easy read that I found for free. If that’s all you’re after, then go ahead and have fun.


Ready to Were is Out Now.
Visit Robyn Peterman for more details.

Leave a Reply

