Review: Breaking Him

cover-breaking himTitle: Breaking Him
Author: Sherilee Gray
Series: – –
Genre: Hot Contemporary
Length: Short novel
Available: 5th Sept

star_fullstar_fullstar_fullstar_fullstar_none


Folks in town call him a monster—say he’s dangerous. But I know him simply as Elijah Hays, the quiet, gentle giant who works with the horses on my ranch. I can feel him watching me, that steady intense gaze making me crave things I don’t quite understand, burn in a way that frightens me. He’s always kept his distance…until that night.

I remember him coming to my rescue, me following him into the barn, giving him his first taste of a woman, and his inexperienced yet barely reined touch turning me to ash.

Now all I can think about is exposing the dark desire I see deep inside him—having him turn those dark desires on me. That low, gritty voice rasping orders in my ear. Those huge, rough hands holding me down when a storm blows in.

I want his surrender. His control. I want to break him…and have him break me…


Source: ARC from Entangled: Scorched via NetGalley

Phew! This was one short, hot, seriously sexy read! Take one determined woman, pair her up with a quiet, social outcast cowboy, add in a bucket load of chemistry and prepare for fireworks, with a little kink on the side. Elijah is very dominant in the bedroom, although beyond a little tying-up and a bit of spanking this doesn’t stray too far into the BDSM realm.

Abigail, our heroine, is in a bit of a tough place, trying to keep her father’s ranch going now that he’s gone. She seems hardworking (though we never actually see her do any actual work around the ranch) and determined to keep things afloat, despite a sleazy bank manager and a lack of options. Luckily for her, Elijah is on hand to help – in more ways than one.

I really liked Elijah, with his tragic back story and his caring ways. What he lacks in experience he certainly makes up for in enthusiasm and dominance. I love how he handles Abigail and the way they are together. They’re more than just their chemistry, but it also helps that everything between them is off-the-charts hot.

However, away from the sex and the scenes between these two, I have to admit to a little confusion. If everyone in town knew how bad Elijah had things at home, why (a) did no one try to help him, and (b) does everyone still blame/fear him now when he’s shown no cause to? I would also have loved to have known more about what happened after the death of his father, what happened to his mother, and whether he left town for a while and returned, or if he’s always been there being quietly reviled by those horrible, small-minded, miserable people. I also would have liked more detail on Abigail’s financial woes and what happened with them, because everything goes very quiet on that front until we hit the end.

Those issues aside, though, if you’re looking for a short, sexy read, then this definitely has all that. I liked the main characters and the scenes between them are undeniably hot, though I would have liked a little more depth away from all the sex. Regardless, it remains absolutely scorching hot.


Breaking Him is out September 5th.
Visit Sherilee Gray for more details.

Leave a Reply

