Review: Critical Condition

cover-critical conditionTitle: Critical Condition
Author: Nicki Edwards
Series: Escape to the Country #4
Genre: Medical Romance
Length: Novel
Available: 27th Sept

star_fullstar_fullstar_fullstar_halfstar_none


Liam O’Connor wants a wife. Problem is, the type of woman he’s looking for doesn’t exist.

After years working as a paramedic in Sydney and living the bachelor life, Liam has had enough. He’s convinced himself, and everyone else, that he’s moved home to Birrangulla for a slower pace of life, but what he’s really looking for is the woman of his dreams.

From the outside, emergency nurse Poppy McDonald lives a charmed life. Unfortunately, when she moved to the other side of the world to escape her family, all she did was swap one controlling environment for another. After Poppy’s father dies, she returns to Australia to face her past. And her mother. But she has no intention of staying, and definitely not in Birrangulla.

When Liam and Poppy meet, there’s an instant spark. Liam knows Poppy is the one even though she’s carrying more than her share of baggage. But can he gain her trust and get her to look beyond her past? Or will the man Poppy left in the US return and ruin everything?

A sweet medical rural-romance for fans of Fiona McArthur, Melanie Milburne, Candace Calvert.


Source: ARC from Momentum Books via NetGalley

I’ve been waiting for Liam’s story this whole series, and I’m pleased to say it’s probably my favourite. If you’re new, though, don’t worry you can still escape to the country without too much prior knowledge of what’s gone before.

I like Liam a lot. He may have spent most of his life avoiding commitment, but he has his reasons and he’s not a user. He may date a lot, but he’s not a man-whore and he cares deeply for those he’s close to. I loved seeing a bit more of his life and the way he is with Poppy is adorable.

Ah, Poppy. I can’t decide if she was plain clueless when it came to her life in New York, or willfully naive. Her obliviousness to the red flags of her relationship were almost as irritating as her ability to run and hide from her problems, but away from that she’s a decent character who is good at her job and struggles to cope with her mother. I don’t blame her in the least for falling for Liam, because he really is irresistible.

There were a few niggles, though. Firstly, everything to do with Liam’s work partner, while undeniably tragic, felt utterly out of place. It gets glossed over far too quickly and because of the big time leap afterwards doesn’t seem to affect Liam at all. This left a nasty gratuitous feeling about it all, when in truth it could have had so much more important things to say. Likewise, I would have liked to have had some follow up to the medical case Poppy flagged when she was in New York – and maybe more about her mother too. This series does have a habit of introducing interesting medical cases and never following up on them, and I was sad to see it continue in this book.

On the whole, though, this is an easy medical romance that bobbles along at a steady place, ventures into some emotional areas and is never afraid of confronting tricky issues, even if doesn’t always give them the follow up they might deserve. Throw in a lovely hero like Liam, add a sprinkling of interesting and fun characters (many returning from previous books) and it all adds up to an enjoyable read.


Critical Condition is out September 27th.
Visit Nicki Edwards for more details.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s