Review: Three Simple Words

cover-three-simple-wordsTitle: Three Simple Words
Author: A.J. Pine
Series: Kingston Ale House #3
Genre: Contemporary Romance
Length: Novel
Available: 17th Oct

star_fullstar_fullstar_fullstar_halfstar_none


She’s holding out for a happy ever after.

Annie
I know where to find my happily ever after—between the pages of a romance novel. It’s why I sell books, why I blog about them, and why I’ll never get disappointed by love.

So what if my brother’s best friend from high school is now a bestselling author? Or that he just blew back into town on a Harley, filling out a pair of jeans like he never did before? Or that he’s agreed to do a signing at my bookstore on such short notice? Because despite all his adoring female fans, I kind of hated his book.

Wes
The last time I saw Annie Denning, she was a senior in high school, three years older than me and way out of my league.
Now I’m her last-minute date to a wedding, and what started as a night of pure fun has turned into something more real than either of us anticipated.

Annie is my muse. When I’m with her, my writer’s block fades away, and the words finally flow.

The only problem? She wants the fairy tale—her very own happily ever after—and anyone who’s read my book knows the truth. I just don’t believe they exist.


Source: ARC from Entangled: Select Contemporary via NetGalley

For the most part I found this a fun, sexy read. It’s my first taste of this author and this series, but it stands alone perfectly well, so you can dive right in if you want to. It mixes a nice dose of best-friend’s sister along with an old teenage crush and commitment issues, and isn’t afraid to put in a few cute moments as well as turn up the heat.

Annie is a firm believer in HEAs and the romance genre. I loved that about her. She’s not ashamed of her literary tastes and isn’t afraid to tell Wes what she thinks about his work. She is a little in denial about her own relationships, though, and her willingness to jump to the worst conclusions about certain situations didn’t really mesh with her muted reactions when she meets the various women in Wes’ book.

Ah, Wes. He turned out to be a bit cuter than I expected, with his old crush and his tender author’s ego. I didn’t feel like his commitment issues were all that convincing, though, when it came to his feelings for Annie. But, still, I loved the nickname and the way he fell for her.

However, the family drama towards the end didn’t really work for me. Wes’ is resolved far too easily, while I’m still baffled by what everything to do with Annie’s was supposed to achieve. It just came out of nowhere.

So while it certainly isn’t perfect, it’s still an entertaining read. If you’re already a fan of this series, you’ll probably enjoy seeing the previous couples make a return, and it sets things up nicely for Annie’s brother to take a turn. Overall this was sexy and fun and I’d certainly read more.


Three Simple Words is out October 17th.
Visit A.J. Pine for more details.

Leave a Reply

