Review: Sweetest Regret

cover-sweetest-regretTitle: Sweetest Regret
Author: Meredith Duran
Series: – –
Genre: Victorian Romance
Length: Novella
Available: 28th Nov

star_fullstar_fullstar_fullstar_fullstar_none


The spirit of the season is festive—and clouding even the sharpest of judgments—in this Victorian era romance, perfect for fans of Jude Deveraux and Sabrina Jeffries.

At a house party in the countryside, the joyful spirit of the Christmas season threatens to sweep Georgiana Trent under the mistletoe—and back into the arms of the dashing rogue who broke her heart two years ago. Little does she know that Lucas Godwin has no intention of leaving until he has reclaimed her as his own.

This novella was originally published last year as part of the What Happens Under the Mistletoe anthology.


Source: ARC from Pocket Star via NetGalley

I first read this novella last year when it was included in the What Happens Under the Mistletoe anthology. I didn’t realise this was a rerelease when I requested on NetGalley to review it, but since it was my favourite story from that book I was pleased to read it again.

This is a wonderful second chance Victorian Christmas romance, reuniting a pair of diplomatically parted lovers who have rather different views for why everything ended between them two years ago. Georgie is well-bred, clever and a touch awkward, while Lucas is charming, ambitious and weighed down by his scandalous parentage.

I liked both main characters and, despite the short nature of the story, I really liked how their reunion unfolded. Poor Georgie is completely put upon by her awful father, having to care for all his guests, while Lucas is less than pleased to be dispatched here and there at the other man’s whim. Which at least gives the pair of them something to agree on, even before they sort their differences out.

There’s a lot of silent longing, a touch of passion and plenty of glorious Victorian Christmas fun in this quick but enjoyable read. I particularly like that there’s nothing rushed or forced feeling about it and I think it suits the short format well. Although I can only wish that the sun was bright and shining at 6am in midwinter and we definitely don’t have bluebirds here.

On the whole, though, I enjoyed this second read just as much as the first. If you like second chances, Christmas and Victorian romances, then there should be something for you to enjoy here.


Sweetest Regret is out November 28th.
Visit Meredith Duran for more details.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s