Review: Carousel

cover-carouselTitle: Carousel
Author: Jordan L. Hawk
Series: Whyborne and Griffin #3.5
Genre: M/M Historical Paranormal
Length: Short story
Available: Now

star_fullstar_fullstar_fullstar_fullstar_none


Note: “Carousel” first appeared in the anthology Another Place in Time. It takes place between the events of Stormhaven and Necropolis.

When a child goes missing in Widdershins, ex-Pinkerton detective Griffin Flaherty fears sinister forces are at work in the town. Together, he and his lover Percival Endicott Whyborne must track down the child and put an end to a murderous plot, before any more young souls are lost.


Source: Bought it

Considering how short this is, I really, really enjoyed it. Partly because it was another chance to see things from Griffin’s perspective. Don’t get me wrong, I love Whyborne and think he’s a great narrator in this series, but there are times when I really want to know what Griffin is thinking about things. This short story offers a tiny, tantalising glimpse into his thoughts, so that was a real treat.

Mostly, though, it was the carousel that made this story for me. Since I’m reading the series very closely together, the start of this book instantly took me back to the scene in Stormhaven, where Whyborne joined Griffin and his family in the park for the day. Whyborne found the carousel so lifelike as to be rather creepy. Well, as someone who has often felt rather creeped out by carousels, this resonated with me – and this whole story simply confirmed my fears.

Carousels are creepy and not to be trusted.

Er… anyway, though short this is another great addition to the series. Even if it did leave me wanting more Griffin. I suspect that’s something I’m just going to have to live with when it comes to this series – I will always want more, of everyone and everything in it.


Carousel is Out Now.
Visit Jordan L. Hawk for more details.

Leave a Reply

