Review: Worth the Wait

cover-worth-the-waitTitle: Worth the Wait
Author: A.J. Pine
Series: Kingston Ale House #4
Genre: Contemporary Romance
Length: Novel
Available: 16th Jan

star_fullstar_fullstar_fullstar_fullstar_none


I like to think of myself as a man of pleasure…

I enjoy a good pint of ale, being in the arms of a beautiful woman, and living by my own rules. The only thing I try to avoid? Commitment. And I’ve got a three-year success rate to prove it.

I wasn’t planning on Grace—the beautiful, funny, totally off-limits massage therapist who keeps popping up in my life. She’s on a six-month mission to rid her life of toxins. No alcohol. No red meat. And, yeah, no men. I’m talking full-on man cleanse.

I know I should walk away, but I can’t…and the only way to keep her in my life is to live by her rules. I’ll need to prove to a woman who’s lost all trust in men that I’m worthy of her love. And do it all without so much as a single kiss.

The only problem? If I win, I’ll lose the one thing I swore I’d never give up. My heart.


Source: ARC from Entangled: Select Contemporary via NetGalley

This was a fun, cute and surprisingly sexy read for a book where the two main characters can’t even kiss for the majority of it. Yet somehow, it works and works really well. I wasn’t all that impressed with Jeremy in the last book, but he definitely comes into his own here and I could fully understand Grace’s reasons for her cleanse, even if it I didn’t always agree with all her decisions. It’s a slow burn romance that doesn’t mind turning up the heat, even if close contact is in short supply.

Jeremy is a man who avoids commitment, not just to women but about his future too. He has a chance to go from bartender to partner at the Kingston Ale House, but old fears are holding him back. But even though he’s spent the last three years being carefree and slightly careless with the women he meets, there is still a good guy under the surface. He was hurt in the past, but he can both be and do better, and it was great seeing him change through the book. The patience he shows Grace is lovely and the way he supports her throughout is great to read.

Poor Grace has all kinds of reasons for not feeling much trust towards anyone these days. But she’s a determined girl who cares about those she loves, and just wants to get a fresh perspective on her life. Hence the cleanse. It does mess with her head a little at times, and there were a few moments where I wanted to shake her (particularly towards the end), but on the whole I found her really likeable and wanted her to find a way.

Along with the slow burn romance, which gives both characters plenty of time to get to know each other – particularly on the phone (*ahem*) – there are also a few villains hanging around and making things tricky. A couple of exs, to be more precise, and my they’re both a piece of work. They certainly help to keep things interesting, though.

I really enjoyed this. It manages to be sexy and romantic, with plenty of chemistry and tension between the two main characters, as well as moments of sweetness. It’s fun too and does a good job of redeeming one character and giving strength back to the other. It’s not without drama, but it never felt too over the top, and even though it was great to see other characters from the series again, it would standalone perfectly well. In all, this was a good end to an enjoyable series.


Worth the Wait is out January 16th!
Visit A.J. Pine for more details.

Leave a Reply

