Review: Driven to Distraction

cover-driven-to-distractionTitle: Driven to Distraction
Author: Olivia Dade
Series: Lovestruck Librarians #5
Genre: Contemporary Romance
Length: Novel
Available: 17th Jan

star_fullstar_fullstar_fullstar_fullstar_full


IF THE BOOKMOBILE’S ROCKING . . .

Constance Chen is not the demure kind of librarian. Sure, her high-horsepower ride is Big Bertha the Bookmobile, but Con swears a blue streak, does her own home improvement, and wears steel-toed boots. She has a tight circle of friends, a demanding, beloved sprawl of a Chinese-American family, and a strict hookups-only policy when it comes to men. Her life is just how she wants it. Except for one maddeningly sexy footnote.

Sam Wolcott, her friend’s baby brother and the library’s IT star, has been throwing sparks with Con since he moved to town. To everybody else, he’s a thoughtful, sensitive sweetheart. To Con, he’s a cantankerous pedant, because if they don’t fight nonstop their clothes will spontaneously combust. Sam needs a commitment Con won’t—can’t—give. And neither of them will chance their hard-won bonds for pure lust.

Too bad Con and Sam have a whole week in a very tiny, very private space to sustain their dumb arguments. Alone. What happens in the Bookmobile might take their resistance right out of circulation . . .


Source: ARC from Lyrical Shine (Kensington) via NetGalley

I’m not a reviewer usually given over to images or gifs or the like, but this was me for most of this book:

Well, when I wasn’t laughing my ass off over Angie’s latest antics, anyway.

Yes, those lusty lovestruck librarians are back, and this one has definitely been my favourite book yet. The mix of heat, romance, humour, smut, silliness and emotional heartbreak completely got to me and I couldn’t put it down. I loved foul-mouthed Con, but I simply adored Sam.

Constance isn’t always the easiest heroine to get along with. She can be prickly, she is super competent and take-charge and is always busy. And yet, she’s also super caring and fiercely loyal to her friends. Her childhood was less than perfect, but she still loves her siblings and parents, even if she does now live on the other side of the country. She’s also foul mouthed, funny and has some scorching chemistry with Sam.

Ah, Sam. Dear Sam. IT geek by day, sexy man by night, super adorable hero the rest of the time. I’d put him in the beta category, as heroes go, but I loved him all the more for it. He listens to Con’s reasons for not wanting a relationship, and instead of simply pushing at her until she gives in, he goes out of his way to lighten her (many) burdens and show her how good they could be together. He’s sweet and generous and adorable, plus sexy and fun too. He is rather needy in an emotional sense, but I loved how he made everything about Con, rather than himself.

These two, I love these two, and even though I could see where their story was ultimately heading, I was curious at times about how we would get there. There were a few moments when it felt like the romance was already done and dusted, yet my Kindle told me there was still so much more to go. Well, that empty space was certainly filled. Not least with a pre-wedding party to remember – a Jane Eyre themed stripper! There is also the, um, memorable wedding and a very welcome return from Pretend Pirate Clarence.

And Angie, so much Angie. I love her. She’s so filthy and funny and made me guffaw and cackle and snerk and chuckle in a way that made me very glad I was alone while reading this. She’s just brilliant. Like the rest of this circle of friends, to be honest. I love seeing them all together. They’re great fun, but also always there to help out when needed. They’re wonderful.

Okay, if I’m honest, I did feel like a few decisions towards the end happened a tiny bit quick considering the importance of them. BUT I have to say, I really appreciated how certain things turned out. It might not be popular with everyone, but it worked for me and I thought it the better option for all involved.

So, in short, I loved this book. It’s super funny, often filthy, is hot and romantic and emotional and made me cry – when it wasn’t making me laugh. I’ve really enjoyed this series so far, but this book worked for me on every level. I can’t wait to read the next one, even if it is the last…


Driven to Distraction is out January 17th.
Visit Olivia Dade for more details.

Leave a Reply

