Review: Girl on a Plane

cover-girl on a plane.jpgTitle: Girl on a Plane
Author: Cassandra O’Leary
Series: ?
Genre: Contemporary Romance
Length: Novel
Available: Now

star_fullstar_fullstar_fullstar_halfstar_none


A sexy, sassy, summer read, perfect for fans of Rebecca Chance and Lindsey Kelk.

CLIMB ON BOARD . . .

When feisty Irish flight attendant Sinead Kennealy locks eyes with sexy Australian CEO Gabriel Anderson in First Class, sparks fly. But as they jet across the globe from Melbourne to London, it’s clear that they’re in for a turbulent journey . . .

Stressed-out Gabriel doesn’t do relationships. And Sinead isn’t about to be fooled by another bad boy after escaping her stalker ex. Then a storm hits, causing the plane to land unexpectedly, and Sinead and Gabriel are thrown together in Singapore.

The pressure rises as Sinead’s unhappy past threatens to catch up with her. But might Gabriel be the one to heal her heartbreak? If he could open up about his troubling secrets, maybe a relationship could actually get off the ground. Fasten your seatbelts – this WON’T be a smooth ride . . .


Source: Review copy from the author

Although largely enjoyable, I have to admit I struggled with this book at times. I found Gabriel very hard to like at first and it seemed to take forever for something to happen. It is slow moving and I found myself skimming occasionally as I waited for something else to grab my attention, but the last third or so definitely did that and by the end I was smiling.

Sinead is a likeable character. She’s hard working if rather unsatisfied with her life. She has family troubles and is uncertain how to move forward, when she falls into Gabriel’s lap and things start to change. She’s not a push over, which I did appreciate, but I wish she’d been given more chance to think about her future and what she really wanted – and how she hoped to achieve it. Yes, her relationship with Gabriel is important, but there were times when I wanted more than just that.

Gabriel grew on me. He doesn’t make a good first, second or even third impression, but eventually, somehow, he wormed his way in. He’s a man with a lot on his plate – a sick mother, an expanding business, international travel – so it’s easy to see why he’s not had much time for relationships. It might have been nice if he hadn’t changed his mind so often about what he wanted from Sinead, but by the end I did like him and I wanted him to succeed.

Away from the romance there’s a bit of a business plot, which thoroughly fizzled out leaving plenty of room for a second book, and there’s also some drama with Sinead’s family and her ex. Considering the really slow pace for most of the book, I felt like Sinead’s issues were dealt with a bit too swiftly and rather left dangling, which was a bit of a shame because I had hoped for more from them all.

The ending, though, was just perfect. So much warmth and fuzziness.

Overall, this is okay. A bit slow for me and I don’t think it really explored the deeper issues as much as it might have. I also didn’t find it particularly light hearted or funny either. It sort of falls somewhere in the middle of the two, without quite fulfilling its potential for either, which was a shame. It did still manage to be enjoyable on the whole, though, and I’d be interesting in reading more about best-friend Ryan and highly capable Charlotte.


Girl on a Plane is Out Now.
Visit Cassandra O’Leary for more details.

Leave a Reply

