Review: Undertow

cover-undertowTitle: Undertow
Author: Jordan L. Hawk
Series: Whyborne and Griffin #8.5
Genre: F/F Historical Paranormal
Length: Novella
Available: Now

stars_3-5


Note: This novella takes place at the same time as events in Fallow (Whyborne & Griffin 8).

Shy secretary Maggie Parkhurst knows there’s nothing special about her. She’s neither sorceress, nor fighter, nor scholar. What could she possibly have to offer Persephone, the chieftess of the inhuman ketoi—and the woman Maggie’s fallen in love with?

After Maggie’s friend Irene goes missing under mysterious circumstances, she has no choice but to turn to Persephone for help. When the trail leads to a shadowy acting troupe, they discover a plot that stretches much farther than a single vanished woman.

But when a dark truth is revealed, Maggie must choose between a man from her past…and the impossible yearnings of her heart.


Source: Bought it

I was so excited about this novella, and not just because it’s been a month since I tore through the whole W&G series in less than a week and I desperately wanted more Widdershins in my life. Unsurprisingly, I ripped through this one pretty swiftly too and thoroughly enjoyed seeing this world through a fresh set of eyes.

Things I particularly loved about this story – Persephone. I love how fierce she is and how thoroughly herself she remains, even with all the recent changes in her life. She is brilliant and her attempts to woo Maggie just filled me with happiness – especially when she threw the bag out of the window. She’s marvellous and getting to see her play her part as Widdershins and work with the Maelstrom was wonderful.

Also: the librarians! They are awesome and continue to be so. Loved seeing them going to war again. So creepy, so strange and so perfectly, perfectly Widdershins. Mr Quinn remains the best.

When it came to Maggie, though, I’ll admit I was a little underwhelmed. She is very oblivious, especially when it comes to Persephone. I did find her thoughts about Whyborne and Griffin’s close friendship amusing, and I would love to read her reaction when someone tells her (because let’s be honest, she’ll never realise on her own). And I know not everyone can be brave and bold and daring, but there were a few times I just wanted to shove her forward to get involved a bit quicker. Ultimately, Maggie does find her courage when she needs to, of course, but mostly I found her less than compelling and kind of bland compared to Persephone.

Overall, though, I liked this. Persephone and the librarians stole all the glory, of course, but the mystery was interesting and it was nice to see Maggie get her chance to shine at last. In all, a nice little addition to this fabulous series – though it only makes me more impatient for the next W&G book to come out.


Undertow is Out Now.
Visit Jordan L. Hawk for more details.

Leave a Reply

