Review: Her Rebel Heart

cover-her-rebel-heartTitle: Her Rebel Heart
Author: Jamie Farrell
Series: The Officer’s Ex-Wives Club #1
Genre: Contemporary Romance
Length: Novel
Available: 7th March

stars_4


The laugh-out-loud, heart-tugging standalone prequel romance in the bestselling Officers’ Ex-Wives Club series!

This sexy military pilot is about to meet his match in an unpredictable physics professor!

Kaci Boudreaux is every Southern mama’s nightmare, including her own. This former Miss Grits would rather tromp around in boots shooting off potato guns—and her mouth—than dress pretty and play nice with the boys. Especially her chauvinistic fellow professors, her ex-husband, and those military cargo pilots she accidentally started a war with.

Lance Wheeler is every Southern belle’s dream, except his ex-fiancé’s. After being left at the altar, he’d love to take his C-130 and fly far, far away. But since his bird technically belongs to Uncle Sam (as does he), a distraction in the form of a feisty fireball of a physics professor will do while he’s waiting for his next deployment with the Air Force.

He’s into her for the fun. She’s into him for the challenge. But when their secrets start slipping out, their hearts will be on the line. She needs roots. He wants to see the world. What will they do about needing each other?


Source: ARC from the author via NetGalley

I was starting to think there was something wrong with me. So many books I’ve ready lately have seemed underwhelming, eliciting little more than a shrug from me. Then I read this book – and thank goodness I did, because it reminded me why I love reading so much. I’ve always enjoyed Jamie Farrell’s books when I’ve read them in the past, and this one didn’t let me down.

I love Kaci. She’s super smart, extremely sassy, loves blowing things up and can’t admit when she’s wrong. She’s an academic and a redneck and never takes the easy road in life, which makes her far from perfect, but I loved her. She’s so vibrant, with a personality that explodes from her first moment, and it’s safe to say she is never boring. She’s not always right either, but there were times I was wholly on her side even when she was wrong, because the other side deserved it. She’s unusual and a fighter and completely and utterly her own person and I adored her for that. I was less fond of the way she kept running from Lance, even when she was just attracted to him, but I guess nobody’s perfect.

I liked Lance. Compared to Kaci, he’s kind of quiet, but I found him okay for the most part. His buddies, though, I wanted to push out of a plane – parachutes optional. I don’t care if they’re realistic, their dude-bro attitudes made me want to unleash all of Kaci’s projectile stash on their heads. Lance is a more reasonable version of them, which meant I could bear him, but I much preferred him when he was away from them. I really liked how he saw and liked Kaci for all that she was. He seems to be the only person who dares to push her and sometimes she really needed that.

I love their relationship. It’s combative at times and always competitive, but always with a thread of humour running beneath it. They have good chemistry too and I loved when they spent time together alone and showed just how well they understood each other – the spud gun scene was awesome.

I did find the ending a little rushed, though. From the conflict right through to the resolution, detail is a little sparse, and I think a bit more groveling should have been necessary. However, it is definitely one of the more original romantic gestures I’ve read, so points for that.

Overall, though, I really enjoyed this. It’s playful and fun, with a smart heroine and a supportive hero, plus catapults, spud guns and canons. If you like your romances larger than life and a little out of the ordinary, then give this a go. It certainly left me smiling.


Her Rebel Heart is out March 7th.
Visit Jamie Farrell for more details.

Leave a Reply

