Review: Shards of Hope

cover-shards of hope
Title: Shards of Hope
Author: Nalini Singh
Series: Psy/Changeling #14
Genre: Paranormal Romance
Length: Novel
Available: Now

stars_5


Awakening wounded in a darkened cell, their psychic abilities blocked, Aden and Zaira know they must escape. But when the lethal soldiers break free from their mysterious prison, they find themselves in a harsh, inhospitable landscape far from civilization. Their only hope for survival is to make it to the hidden home of a predatory changeling pack that doesn’t welcome outsiders.

And they must survive. A shadowy enemy has put a target on the back of the Arrow squad, an enemy that cannot be permitted to succeed in its deadly campaign. Aden will cross any line to keep his people safe for this new future, where even an assassin might have hope of a life beyond blood and death and pain. Zaira has no such hope. She knows she’s too damaged to return from the abyss. Her driving goal is to protect Aden, protect the only person who has ever come back for her no matter what.

This time, even Aden’s passionate determination may not be enough – because the emotionless chill of Silence existed for a reason. For the violent, and the insane, and the irreparably broken . . . like Zaira.

Rich, dark, sumptuous and evocative . . . bestselling author Nalini Singh is back with a stunning, dark and passionate new tale.


Source: Bought it

It’s been far too long since I allowed myself time to read this series. There are just so many books to review and reading anything by Nalini Singh feels like the ultimate self-indulgence, but I was two books and a novella collection behind, with the second season of the series creeping up on the horizon. And since I was in desperate need of a boost, I caved and finally bought this.

Part of the reason I hesitated so long, despite my love for this series, is that I miss the changelings. The previous two books were both Psy focused, and as much as I enjoyed them, I love the changelings – particularly the DarkRiver leopards – so much that I wasn’t as excited about this book as I might have been.

Which shows what a fool I am, because this book! My heart! All squishy and perfect and just… I loved this book so much. Aden is amazing and Zaira is his perfect match, but more than that, more than anything, the Arrows. After so long in the shadows, trapped in Silence, tortured and abused and wasted by Ming, now they have Aden and Aden is doing everything to turn them into a family, into a pack, to raise their children as children, and I just… It squished my heart in all the right ways.

Not that it’s all cute and sweet or even remotely easy, because this is the Psy/Changeling world, so there’s danger everywhere, but these are Arrows, and Aden has some extremely powerful allies. It was so good to see Vasic happy and to see tentative bonds forming across the three races. I completely fell in love with Remi and his fledgling pack and I loved the idea of remedial alphas.

Then there was the chance to finally see what Aden can do… Wow. Just when I think this series has explored every which way the Psy powers can go, it still surprises me. And even as one chapter of this world closes, the old danger of Silence and the Council steadily being contained, fresh challenges are opening up that mean this world, this series, these characters will never, ever be boring.

And there’s not really any more that I can say. If you already read this series, then you don’t need to read this. If you’re new, please, please, do yourself an immense favour and start at the beginning (Slave to Sensation). This world is vast and complicated and there are so very many characters that you will miss so much by jumping in anywhere but near the beginning (although I started at six, Branded by Fire, and have no regrets, because Mercy and Riley are perfect). But if you’re looking for something epic and clever and romantic and absorbing, then you can’t go far wrong with this series. It and Nalini remain absolute favourites of mine and sometime soon I will have to do a complete reread, because worlds this good make for a perfect indulgence.

Luckily for me I still have Allegiance of Honor and those novellas to catch up on – and then I’ll have to wait with everyone else for Silver Silence and Psy/Changeling Trinity to begin.


Shards of Hope is Out Now.
Visit Nalini Singh for more details.

1 Comment

  1. Pingback: Review: Allegiance of Honour | Book Gannet Reviews

Leave a Reply

