Review: Allegiance of Honour

cover-allegiance of honor.jpg
Title: Allegiance of Honour
Author: Nalini Singh
Series: Psy/Changeling #15
Genre: Paranormal Romance
Length: Novel
Available: Now

stars_5


The ‘unparalleled romantic adventure’* of Nalini Singh’s New York Times bestselling series continues as a new dawn begins for the Psy-Changeling world . . .

The Psy-Changeling world has undergone a staggering transformation and now stands at a crossroads. The Trinity Accord promises a new era of cooperation between disparate races and groups. It is a beacon of hope held together by many hands: Old enemies. New allies. Wary loners.

But a century of distrust and suspicion can’t be so easily forgotten and threatens to shatter Trinity from within at any moment. As rival members vie for dominance, chaos and evil gather in the shadows and a kidnapped woman’s cry for help washes up in San Francisco, while the Consortium turns its murderous gaze toward a child who is the embodiment of change, of love, of piercing hope: A child who is both Psy . . . and changeling.

To find the lost, protect the vulnerable – and save Trinity – no one can stand alone. This is a time of loyalty across divisions, of bonds woven into the heart and the soul, of heroes known and unknown standing back to back and holding the line. But is an allegiance of honour even possible with traitors lurking in their midst?

*Publishers Weekly


Source: Bought it

Although in many ways this book felt like a rather indulgent release, it does actually have a plot and sets up many things for the next arc of this excellent series.

But mostly, it was fan service/author indulgence, visiting pretty much all the major couples (and a few minor ones) from the past fifteen books and umpteen novellas, with a few surprise appearances here and there.

Plus Pupcubs! Finally! I may have even grumbled here and there because I was impatient to finally meet them. And when they did… aww.

Best of all, for me, was getting to spend so much time back with the DarkRiver bunch. I love those leopards and I’ve missed them. This series is always amazing, but they’re my favourites and I loved all the threads they were woven into in this book. Lucas is his alpha best, Naya is making waves and breaking hearts (even if she is just a tad too perfect right now) and all the sentinels had little moments. There’s plenty of SnowDancer too, and lots more from the mysterious BlackSea. I really can’t wait to get more info on what they all change into, because my curiosity is fathoms deep right now.

As great as it was to see all the major couples again, I think some of my favourite moments came from the less well known characters. Such as Isaac the trucker. That is such a minor thread from several books back (with Katya, I think), but I loved seeing how things had changed there. Also, seeing Annie and Zach again and the way her decades old mystery was resolved.

It was also lovely to see all the threads binding the various packs and people pulling tighter in this book. Trinity has the power to change this world, but only if those involved pull together, so I loved seeing characters like Kaleb being drawn further into everything. I also appreciated that there are already problems, proving this is no simple solution.

And Father Xavier… finally.

If I was being ultra critical I could say that the plot is pretty thin and stretched even thinner, with so many characters constantly breaking in to have cute moments. But hey, I was feeling horrible when I read this and it wrapped me up in so much gorgeous family/friendship/pack warmth complete with all the feels that I don’t care. This book felt like a gift and it was precisely what I needed.

Having said that, if I read it on its own without having recently read at least one other Psy/Changeling book it probably would have made my head explode. There are so very many characters and it’s been years since I’ve read some of these books that it would be easy to get lost. Luckily for me, I read this the day after I finished Shards of Hope, so I was fully immersed in this world already and it put the top on my Psy/Changeling cake.

Overall, I loved this. It’s definitely not the place for newcomers to jump in and it’s probably best enjoyed after a full series reread. Think of it as a love letter to the characters, or an epilogue for the first fourteen books, with a tiny bit of a prologue for the next series arc, and you should hopefully enjoy it as much as I did. There is a lot going on, much of it full of family cuddles and cuteness, but I loved it and I cannot wait for the Trinity arc to truly begin.


Allegiance of Honour is Out Now.
Visit Nalini Singh for more details.

Leave a Reply

