Review: Firefly Hollow Collection: Volume 1

cover-firefly-hollow-collectionTitle: Firefly Hollow Collection: Volume 1
Author: T.L. Haddix
Series: Firefly Hollow
Genre: Women’s Fiction/ Romance
Contains: Firefly Hollow, Butterfly Lane, Dragonfly Creek
Available: Now


The first three books in the bestselling Firefly Hollow series, Women’s Fiction Romance set in Appalachia and touched with hints of traditional folklore, now available in one convenient volume.

Firefly Hollow – Book One in the Firefly Hollow Series

In 1960, a tragic death in the family calls young Sarah Browning back from college to her Appalachian homestead. Unable to return to school and finish her degree, she finds herself facing a future that isn’t what she’d planned. Lost and grieving, she wanders onto her reclusive neighbor’s property where she stumbles across the all-too-attractive Owen Campbell, a man hiding secrets she’d only ever thought were legend.

Owen Campbell was raised on the folklore of Eastern Kentucky, tales of men and women with magical abilities from shape-shifting to healing powers. Rejected by those he loves because of his own abilities, he isolates himself from the world. When he meets Sarah, he’s faced with the tough decision of whether to let her in or stay hidden away to keep his heart safe.

Butterfly Lane – Book Two in the Firefly Hollow Series.

When Zanny Franks Campbell walks in on her husband kissing another woman, she’s devastated but not surprised. She’s known something was wrong for a while but hasn’t had the courage to find out what. Now the ugly truth is coming out, and she isn’t sure she believes John’s protestations of innocence, no matter how much she wants to.

John hates himself for hurting Zanny. Even though the situation she walked in on wasn’t what it appeared to be, no matter how hard he tries to convince her he still wants to be married, she isn’t listening. She knows he hasn’t been fully honest with her about the intimate problems they’re facing, and until he is, the wounds between them will never heal.

With both of them hurting, finding middle ground where they can work things out turns into a struggle Zanny isn’t sure she’s able to fight. And unless John comes clean and tells her what he’s hiding, moving forward just isn’t an option. Until she believes he won’t hurt her again, she can’t take that risk.

Dragonfly Creek – Book Three in the Firefly Hollow series.

When Ben Campbell returns home to Hazard, Kentucky after a five-year absence, the last person he’s expecting to run into is the girl who broke his heart – the girl who left town and married someone else. He’s done his best to move on, but he knows he’s only been going through the motions of living. Determined to exorcise Ainsley’s ghost, he approaches the young widow with an offer for a steamy liaison to do just that.

Ainsley Brewer Scott carries a lot of weight on her shoulders, weight that’s left deep emotional and physical scars. Her dreams of an everlasting love with Ben were dashed thoroughly, thanks to her malicious and conniving mother. Back in town to wrap up the old woman’s estate, Ainsley’s world is turned upside down when she sees Ben. And when he propositions her, he lights a match to her temper that flames into a burning attraction just as strong as what they shared years earlier.

When the truth behind Ainsley’s leaving comes out, the long-held secrets shatter the fragile trust they’ve started to build. She and Ben have to decide to either walk away from each other for the second time or stand together and fight for their future.

Other titles include “Cattail Ridge,” “Cricket Cove,” “Stormking Road,” and “Fern Valley.” Set in Appalachia, the series follows the Campbell family from generation to generation.

Source: Review copy provided by the author via NetGalley

There’s something deeply enjoyable about this series. The Campbell family are a particularly special set of people, and not just because of the paranormal gifts that most of them possess. The Appalachian setting just adds a real sense of place to these wonderful characters and make this entire series a joy to read.

This volume contains the first three books, introducing Owen and Sarah and how they fell in love before moving on to their two sons. The rest of the series not only covers the rest of the Campbell children, but also extends to the next generation beyond that, plus extended family members. So if you love a good family saga, there is much to be enjoyed here.

My personal favourite of the three is the first one. FIREFLY HOLLOW introduces us to this special part of the world as well as opening up Owen Campbell’s secret shifter abilities. It’s not a perfect read (I feel it’s a little overlong and there’s some unnecessary drama towards the end) but I loved reading about Owen and Sarah’s relationship and seeing where this series all began.

BUTTERFLY LANE was probably my least favourite, as it deals with difficulties in John and Zanny’s marriage. It is emotional and heart wrenching, but I also found Zanny’s reasoning baffling at times and infuriating at others. Their marriage is definitely in trouble, but there are times when she seems to drag things out far longer than necessary. Having said that, by the end, the emotional pay out is wonderful.

DRAGONFLY CREEK is an emotional second chance romance with some real dark moments. Ainsley’s strength and the way she manages to open her heart up to Ben again is rather amazing. The Campbell family play a very strong role in bringing about a happy ending, and I loved reading more about them in this story.

In all I thoroughly enjoyed this collection. Not only does it introduce you to the incredible Campbell family, but it also contains three emotional, romantic stories that can all be enjoyed in their own right. This collection is a great way to start the overall saga and I can’t wait to read more.

Individual and more in-depth reviews can also be found here:
Firefly Hollow
Butterfly Lane
Dragonfly Creek

Firefly Hollow Collection: Volume 1 is Out Now.
Visit T.L. Haddix for more details.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s