Review: Alien Mate

cover-alien mateTitle: Alien Mate
Author: Cara Bristol
Series: – –
Genre: Sci-Fi Romance
Length: Short novel
Available: 10th April

stars_3


I’m Starr Elizabeth Connor. Earth’s government falsely convicted me of a crime, packed me on a ship with other female felons, and sent us to Dakon, a primitive, frozen wasteland of a planet. Why? Earth needs minerals, and Dakon is desperate for females.

But I’m no barbarian’s ‘mail order bride,’ even if he is super tall, muscular, and the chief of his tribe. He doesn’t want a BBW blonde, either–it’s written all over his chiseled face. He’ll be truly angry if he ever learns what my ‘crime’ was.

I am Torg. I have waited 34 rotations for a mate of my own. With this shipment, I was sure to get a fine, sturdy mate who’ll bear me many daughters. Instead, I receive a small, curvy, pale-haired female who looks at me with anger and fear.

It is only when we ‘kiss’ that I believe things may work out between us. But I’m hearing rumors that Starr and her shipmates are law-breakers. To survive, Dakonians must obey all laws … or be exiled into the frozen wasteland. Just when I have found her, will I have to send my mate to die?


Source: ARC from the author via email

If you’re looking for a quick, easy sci-fi read with sex, alien barbarians and criminal women, then look no further. This is a light, enjoyable escape that is perfect for times when you really don’t want to think too hard about anything.

Starr is determined to prove her innocence. She might have been shipped off to another planet to become a mail-order alien bride, but she has no intention of staying on the iced up world. Well, that is until a few hours after she arrives when all her determination goes out of the window and she sleeps with Torg. Which was really a bit quick, even for this fun, light read. I think a little more getting to know you time might have been nice – and was even possible despite the swiftness of the plot.

Torg too has a quick turn around in his feelings, after his initial recoil from Starr’s alien straw hair. His instalust can mostly be explained away by his desire for a mate after so much time alone, though the speed at which both their feelings deepen did seem a bit too rapid.

But, as I say, this is light and easy and even though there’s a bit of a deeper mystery plot about petty, nasty alien women and possible murder attempts, mostly it’s about adapting to new realities and making the best out of what you’ve got. The fact that absolutely all the couples get on amazingly well despite cultural differences and the awkwardness of being picked out of a line up adds into the fairytale perfectness of certain things, but I was intrigued by frozen Dakon and the society that survived after the meteor strike.

In all I found this a fun read, but a little too light for me. I would have liked more of Starr talking to people other than her human friends or Torg, and seen her attempting to fit in with the locals. Having said that, this all happens over a really short period of time, so there isn’t a chance for anything beyond sex and setting up communications back to Terra. Which is a shame, but this is still a quick and easy alien romance read. If that’s what you’re looking for and all that you want, then I’m sure you’ll find plenty to enjoy here.


Alien Mate is out April 10th.
Visit Cara Bristol for more details.

Leave a Reply

