Review: A Curse So Dark and Lonely

Curse so DarkTitle: A Curse So Dark and Lonely
Author: Brigid Kemmerer
Series: A Curse So Dark and Lonely #1
Genre: YA Fantasy
Length: Novel
Available: Now

stars_3-5


Fall in love, break the curse.

It once seemed so easy to Prince Rhen, the heir to Emberfall. Cursed by a powerful enchantress to repeat the autumn of his eighteenth year over and over, he knew he could be saved if a girl fell for him. But that was before he learned that at the end of each autumn, he would turn into a vicious beast hell-bent on destruction. That was before he destroyed his castle, his family, and every last shred of hope.

Nothing has ever been easy for Harper Lacy. With her father long gone, her mother dying, and her brother barely holding their family together while constantly underestimating her because of her cerebral palsy, she learned to be tough enough to survive. But when she tries to save someone else on the streets of Washington, DC, she’s instead somehow sucked into Rhen’s cursed world.

Break the curse, save the kingdom.

A prince? A monster? A curse? Harper doesn’t know where she is or what to believe. But as she spends time with Rhen in this enchanted land, she begins to understand what’s at stake. And as Rhen realizes Harper is not just another girl to charm, his hope comes flooding back. But powerful forces are standing against Emberfall . . . and it will take more than a broken curse to save Harper, Rhen, and his people from utter ruin.


Continue reading

Advertisements

Review: Blue Shift

cover-blue shiftTitle: Blue Shift
Author: Jane O’Reilly
Series: Second Species Trilogy #1
Genre: Sci-fi Romance
Length: Novel
Available: Now

stars_3-5


The Earth is cold, dead and divided. The rich hide away from reality while the rest will do anything to survive. Humanity have only one hope: reaching a habitable planet. But getting there means travelling in large numbers through alien-held space, something that’s politically nearly impossible. Yet for some, fighting their way through space is just a way of life . . .

Jinnifer Blue is a rich girl on the run. An expert pilot, she apprehends criminals on behalf of the government and keeps her illegal genetic modifications a closely guarded secret. But when a particularly dangerous job goes south, leaving her stranded on a prison ship with one of the most ruthless criminals in the galaxy, Jinn realises that the rich and the powerful are hiding more than she’d ever guessed. Now she must decide if she can trust her co-prisoner – because once they discover what the prison ship is hiding, she definitely can’t trust anyone else . . .


Continue reading

Review: Storm

cover-stormTitle: Storm
Author: Sarah Driver
Series: The Huntress #3
Genre: Middle Grade Fantasy
Age Range: 9+
Available: Now

stars_3-5


Stag’s army marches on, and up in the Sky fortress of Hackles, Mouse tries to keep hopeful as allies from different Tribes join forces to fight him. Mouse is forbidden to leave the mountain – but when their leader is kidnapped, she knows she must go in search of the last Opal, even if this means breaking her promise to Da . . .

Mouse is soon heading for the lands of the bloodthirsty Fangtooths. And as rumours fly about the return of an ancient evil, Mouse knows that she and her crew will soon face their biggest battle – for their Tribes, for their lives – for their world as they know it. The storm is coming . . .


Continue reading

Review: Spell Tracker

cover-spell trackerTitle: Spell Tracker
Author: Alex C. Vick
Series: Light Mage #1
Genre: YA Fantasy
Length: Novel
Available: Now

stars_3-5


Luca has a problem his magic can’t solve. The boy he’s loved since they fought side-by-side as gladiators in Ancient Rome is about to die for the last time. Luca’s only chance to prevent it is to make a deal with the Spell Tracker, who demands Luca’s own life as collateral.

At seventeen years old, Luca is a Light Mage, the rarest of magicians. He’s able to navigate the earthbound dimension without losing his memory of its magical counterpart. Like an invisible kind-hearted ghost, he helps others to graduate their life paths and take up their chosen magical professions.

But this time, with the help of the Spell Tracker, Luca is earthbound again for real as a high school senior. The boy he’s here to save is nothing like he expected, and before long his head and his heart are all over the place, as well as his intended rescue.

The Spell Tracker can hardly wait for him to fail. The life of this particular Light Mage is something he’s wanted for a very long time…

Spell Tracker, the first book in the Light Mage series, is a contemporary fantasy story with time travel, m/m romance, and no cliffhanger. Additional content information is available via the Look Inside feature on Amazon. Recommended for 14+


Continue reading

Review: A Winter Beneath the Stars

cover-a winter beneath the starsTitle: A Winter Beneath the Stars
Author: Jo Thomas
Series: – –
Genre: Women’s Fiction
Length: Novel
Available: Now

stars_3-5


Escape to snowy Sweden this Christmas in the gorgeous new novel from the author of The Oyster Catcher. Fans of Jill Mansell and Milly Johnson will love this unforgettable winter story from Jo Thomas. 

Halley has been running from her problems for years.

On a courier trip to Tallfors, deep in Swedish Lapland, everything is going to plan. Halley has her bag, with two precious wedding rings inside for delivery… until she doesn’t.

The only way to save the wedding is to team up with mysterious reindeer herder Bjorn, the one person who can lead her across the snowy tundra to be reunited with her bag.

On a journey of a lifetime beneath the stars, with only the reindeer and a bad-tempered stranger for company beside the fire, Halley realises that she will need to confront her past heartaches in order to let the warmth of love in once more…


Continue reading

Review: Someone to Trust

cover-someone to trustTitle: Someone to Trust
Author: Mary Balogh
Series: Westcott #5
Genre: Regency Romance
Length: Novel
Available: Now

stars_3-5


During a rare white Christmas at Brambledean Court, the widow Elizabeth, Lady Overfield, defies convention by falling in love with a younger man in the latest novel in the Westcott series.

After her husband’s passing, Elizabeth Overfield decides that she must enter into another suitable marriage. That, however, is the last thing on her mind when she meets Colin Handrich, Lord Hodges, at the Westcott Christmas house party. She simply enjoys his company as they listen to carolers on Christmas Eve, walk home from church together on Christmas morning, and engage in a spirited snowball fight in the afternoon. Both are surprised when their sled topples them into a snowbank and they end up sharing an unexpected kiss. They know there is no question of any relationship between them, for she is nine years older than he.

They return to London the following Season, both committed to finding other, more suitable matches. Still they agree to share one waltz at each ball they attend. This innocuous agreement proves to be one that will topple their worlds, as each dance steadily ensnares them in a romance that forces the two to question what they are willing to sacrifice for love…


Continue reading

Review: Chasing Shadows

cover-chasing shadowsTitle: Chasing Shadows
Author: Catherine Bybee
Series: First Wives #3
Genre: Contemporary Romance
Length: Novel
Available: Now

stars_3-5


Falling in love can come with the most unexpected risks in this First Wives novel from New York Times bestselling author Catherine Bybee.

Avery Grant doesn’t date. Her first marriage was a mutually beneficial contract that gave her the financial freedom she needed to step away from her controlling parents. Wealthy and single, the last thing she’s looking for is love sneaking in to mess up her life plans. And after a brutal attack, she’s determined to never be vulnerable again, even if the new man in her life helps her feel safe.

Mesmerized from the moment he sets his eyes on Avery, Liam is driven to learn everything about this tough, sexy, challenging woman. Breaking down her defenses won’t be easy, but Liam refuses to be pushed away. All he needs is a tiny crack in Avery’s armor to wiggle his way into her heart.

But when a terrifying lie about her attacker’s fate comes to light, Avery’s past returns to haunt her. Now she’s willing to put herself in danger to get the answers she needs. That means jeopardizing the best thing that’s ever happened to her: Liam.


Continue reading