Review: The Root of All Evil

cover-root of all evilTitle: The Root of All Evil
Author: Hacker Murphy
Illustrator: Lucie Ebrey
Series: Creeper Files #1
Age Range: 9+
Available: Now

stars_5


EXCLUSIVE: Investigator Hacker Murphy makes Creeper Files, detailing the nefarious activities of the most evil man/plant ever known, available for the first time.

There’s evil on the loose. Jake’s dog knows there’s a problem: why won’t he go into the garden on his own? Jake’s friends know there’s a problem: who’s the strange figure lurking in their garden? Jake knows there’s a problem: what is the terrifying viney creature he is running away from?! Jake’s mum has no idea there’s a problem: she’s a grown-up, you know what they’re like.

You’ll never look at a potato in the same way again …Perfect for fans of Doctor Who and Scooby Doo.


Continue reading

Review: Silver Silence

cover-silver silenceTitle: Silver Silence
Author: Nalini Singh
Series: Psy-Changeling Trinity #1 (Psy-Changeling #16)
Genre: Paranormal Romance
Length: Novel
Available: Now

stars_5


New York Times bestselling author Nalini Singh introduces a bold new chapter in her extraordinary paranormal romance saga with the Psy-Changeling Trinity series. Wild passion will encounter the darkest of betrayal…

Control. Precision. Family. These are the principles that drive Silver Mercant. At a time when the fledgling Trinity Accord seeks to unite a divided world, with Silver playing a crucial role as director of a worldwide emergency response network, wildness and chaos are the last things she needs in her life. But that’s exactly what Valentin Nikolaev, alpha of the StoneWater Bears, brings with him.

Valentin has never met a more fascinating woman. Though Silver is ruled by Silence—her mind clear of all emotion—Valentin senses a whisper of fire around her. That’s what keeps him climbing apartment buildings to be near her. But when a shadow assassin almost succeeds in poisoning Silver, the stakes become deadly serious…and Silver finds herself in the heart of a powerful bear clan.

Her would-be assassin has no idea what their poison has unleashed…


Source: Bought it

I have to reread this again before I can review it properly. There’s so much going on, the world keeps expanding, new troubles are brewing.

But I can’t order my thoughts about it yet… because bears!

I love those bears. Being in a bear clan would drive me mad from all that togetherness, but they’re adorable and hilarious and I LOVE THEM!

Which means I can’t talk about this with any kind of coherence. Especially when I think about Valentin, who is just…

Throw in Silver too, who is quietly awesome in her own way, and I am Team Starlight and Her Teddy Bear forever.

Yeah, so proper review to come when I have time to savour a reread and corral my scattered thoughts into better coherence than Bears, squeeeee!

Review: Whatever You Need

cover-whatever you needTitle: Whatever You Need
Author: Barbara Longley
Series: The Haneys #2
Genre: Contemporary Romance
Length: Novel
Available: 11th April

stars_5


In the second novel in award-winning author Barbara Longley’s sweet and sexy Haneys series, an introverted electrician rewires a young widow’s apartment—and attempts to mend her heart.

Painfully shy electrician Wyatt Haney is a pro at complex wiring jobs, but when it comes to women, he just can’t seem to make a lasting connection. If he had even half the courage of the superhero he penned for his comic book series, he’d finally be able to talk to his beautiful neighbor, Kayla—and stop hiding behind a hoodie. When an electrical fire breaks out in Kayla’s apartment, Wyatt comes to the rescue, sparking an attraction neither of them expected.

Kayla Malone has had enough surprises. First an unplanned pregnancy at eighteen, then losing her husband in war, and now a fire in her apartment. Thank God her hot neighbor has the skills to help. As Wyatt repairs Kayla’s apartment and forges a relationship with her son, he also makes inroads to her heart. It’s clear that Wyatt has fallen for Kayla, but is she willing to risk another heartbreak—or will she ignore the electricity between them and miss her happy ending?


Continue reading

Review: Allegiance of Honour

cover-allegiance of honor.jpg
Title: Allegiance of Honour
Author: Nalini Singh
Series: Psy/Changeling #15
Genre: Paranormal Romance
Length: Novel
Available: Now

stars_5


The ‘unparalleled romantic adventure’* of Nalini Singh’s New York Times bestselling series continues as a new dawn begins for the Psy-Changeling world . . .

The Psy-Changeling world has undergone a staggering transformation and now stands at a crossroads. The Trinity Accord promises a new era of cooperation between disparate races and groups. It is a beacon of hope held together by many hands: Old enemies. New allies. Wary loners.

But a century of distrust and suspicion can’t be so easily forgotten and threatens to shatter Trinity from within at any moment. As rival members vie for dominance, chaos and evil gather in the shadows and a kidnapped woman’s cry for help washes up in San Francisco, while the Consortium turns its murderous gaze toward a child who is the embodiment of change, of love, of piercing hope: A child who is both Psy . . . and changeling.

To find the lost, protect the vulnerable – and save Trinity – no one can stand alone. This is a time of loyalty across divisions, of bonds woven into the heart and the soul, of heroes known and unknown standing back to back and holding the line. But is an allegiance of honour even possible with traitors lurking in their midst?

*Publishers Weekly


Continue reading

Review: Shards of Hope

cover-shards of hope
Title: Shards of Hope
Author: Nalini Singh
Series: Psy/Changeling #14
Genre: Paranormal Romance
Length: Novel
Available: Now

stars_5


Awakening wounded in a darkened cell, their psychic abilities blocked, Aden and Zaira know they must escape. But when the lethal soldiers break free from their mysterious prison, they find themselves in a harsh, inhospitable landscape far from civilization. Their only hope for survival is to make it to the hidden home of a predatory changeling pack that doesn’t welcome outsiders.

And they must survive. A shadowy enemy has put a target on the back of the Arrow squad, an enemy that cannot be permitted to succeed in its deadly campaign. Aden will cross any line to keep his people safe for this new future, where even an assassin might have hope of a life beyond blood and death and pain. Zaira has no such hope. She knows she’s too damaged to return from the abyss. Her driving goal is to protect Aden, protect the only person who has ever come back for her no matter what.

This time, even Aden’s passionate determination may not be enough – because the emotionless chill of Silence existed for a reason. For the violent, and the insane, and the irreparably broken . . . like Zaira.

Rich, dark, sumptuous and evocative . . . bestselling author Nalini Singh is back with a stunning, dark and passionate new tale.


Continue reading

Review: The Devil’s Paintbox

cover-devils-paintboxTitle: The Devil’s Paintbox
Author: Robin Jarvis
Series: The Witching Legacy #2
Genre: Children’s/MG Dark Fantasy
Age Range: 11+
Available: Now

stars_5


Legend of supernatural fantasy Robin Jarvis is back with his spellbinding sequel to The Power of Dark. 

Lil and Verne may think they have quelled the Dark forces that tried to destroy Whitby, but they have no idea that the powers they’ve been meddling with are about to turn on them. Despite Lil’s crucial role in saving her home from destruction, she notices that the townsfolk have become wary of her – even fear her. More than ever she needs the support of best friend Verne and the witch Cherry Cerise, but they are preoccupied by their attempts to uncover more secrets of the golden Nimius.

When Lil finds an antique box of watercolour paints she welcomes the diversion, little realising that every time she uses it something nasty escapes. But it is while they are distracted an old enemy finds a path to their door . . .


Continue reading

Review: Driven to Distraction

cover-driven-to-distractionTitle: Driven to Distraction
Author: Olivia Dade
Series: Lovestruck Librarians #5
Genre: Contemporary Romance
Length: Novel
Available: 17th Jan

star_fullstar_fullstar_fullstar_fullstar_full


IF THE BOOKMOBILE’S ROCKING . . .

Constance Chen is not the demure kind of librarian. Sure, her high-horsepower ride is Big Bertha the Bookmobile, but Con swears a blue streak, does her own home improvement, and wears steel-toed boots. She has a tight circle of friends, a demanding, beloved sprawl of a Chinese-American family, and a strict hookups-only policy when it comes to men. Her life is just how she wants it. Except for one maddeningly sexy footnote.

Sam Wolcott, her friend’s baby brother and the library’s IT star, has been throwing sparks with Con since he moved to town. To everybody else, he’s a thoughtful, sensitive sweetheart. To Con, he’s a cantankerous pedant, because if they don’t fight nonstop their clothes will spontaneously combust. Sam needs a commitment Con won’t—can’t—give. And neither of them will chance their hard-won bonds for pure lust.

Too bad Con and Sam have a whole week in a very tiny, very private space to sustain their dumb arguments. Alone. What happens in the Bookmobile might take their resistance right out of circulation . . .


Continue reading