Review: Welcome to the Jungle

cover-welcome to the jungleTitle: Welcome to the Jungle
Author: Hacker Murphy
Illustrator: Lucie Ebrey
Series: Creeper Files #2
Age Range: 9+
Available: Now

stars_4


Mother Nature has never been creepier.

EXCLUSIVE: Investigator Hacker Murphy makes Creeper Files, detailing the nefarious activities of the most evil man/plant ever known, available for the first time. Hacker Murphy is chasing a story about a green-fingered villain who calls himself The Creeper, and these are his latest case files.

The Creeper is back, and this time he’s REALLY angry. His has complete control over all things green, and this time the gardening gloves are off! Warning: The Plantocalypse is about to begin.


Continue reading

Review: The Root of All Evil

cover-root of all evilTitle: The Root of All Evil
Author: Hacker Murphy
Illustrator: Lucie Ebrey
Series: Creeper Files #1
Age Range: 9+
Available: Now

stars_5


EXCLUSIVE: Investigator Hacker Murphy makes Creeper Files, detailing the nefarious activities of the most evil man/plant ever known, available for the first time.

There’s evil on the loose. Jake’s dog knows there’s a problem: why won’t he go into the garden on his own? Jake’s friends know there’s a problem: who’s the strange figure lurking in their garden? Jake knows there’s a problem: what is the terrifying viney creature he is running away from?! Jake’s mum has no idea there’s a problem: she’s a grown-up, you know what they’re like.

You’ll never look at a potato in the same way again …Perfect for fans of Doctor Who and Scooby Doo.


Continue reading

Review: Thunderstruck

cover-thunderstruckTitle: Thunderstruck
Author: Ali Sparkes
Series: – –
Genre: Children’s Paranormal Fiction
Age Range: 9+
Available: Now

stars_4


What if your new best friend was a ghost?

Getting struck by lightning whilst huddling under a tree isn’t exactly the way Alisha and Theo would have chosen to get out of sports day . . .

Surviving the strike makes them see life differently. It also makes them notice Doug and Lizzie. Struck by lightning under that same tree on the common in 1975, the two teenagers have been hanging out there ever since.

Doug and Lizzie are funny, clever, brave – and quite happy about making friends with a pair of ten-year-olds. OK, fair point, they are dead, and Doug’s trousers are worryingly flared. But you can’t have everything.

But something sinister is going on at school – although only Theo and Alisha seem to be able to see it. What can it mean when ragged faceless entities keep staring in through the windows?

Not all ghosts are friendly like Doug and Lizzie . . . but are these phantoms really the harbingers of doom for all the kids at Beechwood Junior?

A fun and fast-paced ghostly mystery with lightning strikes, floating phantoms, and four fantastic friends just trying to get on with their everyday lives . . . or deaths . . .

From the prize-winning author of Frozen in Time, the Shapeshifter series, and many more!


Continue reading

Review: See You In the Cosmos

cover-see-you-in-the-cosmosTitle: See You in the Cosmos
Author: Jack Cheng
Series: —
Genre: Teen/MG Fiction
Age Range: 11+
Available: Now

stars_4


A funny, luminous, utterly moving novel about a space-obsessed boy, his dog Carl Sagan, and a journey toward family, love, hope, and awe.

11-year-old Alex Petroski loves space and rockets, his mom, his brother, and his dog Carl Sagan-named for his hero, the real-life astronomer. All he wants is to launch his golden iPod into space the way Carl Sagan (the man, not the dog) launched his Golden Record on the Voyager spacecraft in 1977. From Colorado to New Mexico, Las Vegas to L.A., Alex records a journey on his iPod to show other lifeforms what life on earth, his earth, is like. But his destination keeps changing. And the funny, lost, remarkable people he meets along the way can only partially prepare him for the secrets he’ll uncover-from the truth about his long-dead dad to the fact that, for a kid with a troubled mom and a mostly not-around brother, he has way more family than he ever knew.

For fans of Wonder and The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time, Jack Cheng’s debut is full of joy, optimism, determination, and unbelievable heart. To read the first page is to fall in love with Alex and his view of our big, beautiful, complicated world. To read the last is to know he and his story will stay with you a long, long time.


Continue reading

Review: The Great Cat Café Rescue

cover-great-cat-cafe-rescueTitle: The Great Cat Café Rescue
Author: Katrina Charman
Illustrator: Lucy Truman
Series: Poppy’s Place #3
Age Range: 9+
Available: 9th March

stars_4


The third book in this heart-warming series about the residents of Poppy’s Place cat café!
Poppy’s Place is up and running, but Isla is frustrated by the time it’s taking to rehome the cats. Then she has a purr-fect idea – they could host a cat adoption event on Valentine’s Day, to match the perfect cat with the perfect owner. But just as the plans for the Great Cat-acular are coming together disaster strikes – Poppy’s Place is flooded! Can Isla come up with a plan to relocate their big event and save the day?


Continue reading

Review: The Moonlight Statue

cover-hounds-of-penhallow-hallTitle: The Moonlight Statue
Author: Holly Webb
Illustrator: Jason Cockcroft
Series: The Hounds of Penhallow Hall
Ages: 8+
Available: 9th Feb

stars_4


For Polly, moving to Penhallow Hall is the fresh start she’s been longing for since the death of her father. Her mum has got a job managing the stately home and once the last of the visitors leave for the day the place is all theirs!

One night, Polly sleepwalks into the garden and wakes to find her hand on the head of one of the stone dogs that guard the steps down to the lawn. Then she feels him lick her cheek! The dog introduces himself as Rex, an Irish Wolfhound who lived at Penhallow many hundreds of years earlier.

And he is not the only resident ghost – Polly has also glimpsed a strange boy around the place. With Rex’s help she finds herself unravelling the story of his beloved master, William Penhallow, who was killed in the First World War aged only 17.


Continue reading

Review: Monty the Sad Puppy

cover-monty-the-sad-puppyTitle: Monty the Sad Puppy
Author: Holly Webb
Illustrator: Sophy Williams
Series: Animal Stories
Age Range: 7+
Available: 12th Jan

star_fullstar_fullstar_fullstar_fullstar_full


Amelie has always loved dogs, but she never dreamed that she’d end up with two of them!

Their puppy, Monty, has only been with them for a few months when her family offer to take in her grandad’s beloved Daisy as he has to go into a care home. Amelie promises Grandad they will look after the old dachshund brilliantly. But when Daisy arrives, she is obviously unhappy and scared. Meanwhile, Monty doesn’t understand why there is another dog in his house. And with Amelie making such a fuss over the new arrival, he soon starts to feel very unwanted. Doesn’t Amelie care about him any more?

A brand new tale in the Animal Stories series from best-selling author Holly Webb. Monty The Sad Puppy is the 35th book in Holly Webb’s Animal Stories series, a must for animal loving girls aged around six to eight years.


Continue reading