Review: Surviving Magic

cover-surviving magicTitle: Surviving Magic
Author: Alex C. Vick
Series: Legacy of Androva #6
Genre: YA Fantasy
Length: Novel
Available: Now

stars_3


My name is Galen and I never wanted to know the future. Life as an underage magician on Androva was already complicated. Using illegal spells on professors, opening portals to strange new worlds, and trying to avoid being matched with the wrong girl.

Then I found the right girl and everything changed. I made some choices I can’t take back. I opened a doorway in time and now I know that a great evil is coming. I’m nearly seventeen and I’m a pretty good magician, but that won’t be nearly enough. No one on Androva will believe me – the runaway who chose love instead of duty. If I get this wrong, there’s a lot more than my own life at risk…

Although Surviving Magic is part of the Legacy of Androva series, it can also be read independently. However, if you have read Seeking Magic and want to know more about Galen, Surviving Magic is his story. The book retells part of Seeking Magic from Galen’s point of view. Suitable for lower young adult and older.


Continue reading

Advertisements

DNF: To Kill a Kingdom

cover-to kill a kingdomTitle: To Kill a Kingdom
Author: Alexandra Christo
Series: – –
Genre: YA Fantasy
Length: Novel
Available: 6th March

stars_1


Dark and romantic YA fantasy for fans of Sarah J Maas – about the siren with a taste for royal blood and the prince who has sworn to destroy her. 

Princess Lira is siren royalty and the most lethal of them all. With the hearts of seventeen princes in her collection, she is revered across the sea. Until a twist of fate forces her to kill one of her own. To punish her daughter, the Sea Queen transforms Lira into the one thing they loathe most – a human. Robbed of her song, Lira has until the winter solstice to deliver Prince Elian’s heart to the Sea Queen or remain a human forever. 

The ocean is the only place Prince Elian calls home, even though he is heir to the most powerful kingdom in the world. Hunting sirens is more than an unsavoury hobby – it’s his calling. When he rescues a drowning woman in the ocean, she’s more than what she appears. She promises to help him find the key to destroying all of sirenkind for good. But can he trust her? And just how many deals will Elian have to barter to eliminate mankind’s greatest enemy?


Continue reading

Review: Breaking Magic

cover-breaking magicTitle: Breaking Magic
Author: Alex C. Vick
Series: Legacy of Androva #5
Genre: YA Fantasy
Length: Novel
Available: Now

stars_4


Callax is fifteen, and he already knows he won’t ever grow old. Twelve years after leaving the childstation he will be summoned to the Gathering, where life essences are taken by a deadly, irresistible spell. On his world, this is one of the many ways in which the Exta serve the Opta. His best hope is to avoid an early binding by staying out of trouble.

But in protecting his younger brother Benedar, he was noticed by the Breaker, the evil magician in charge of the Gathering. The closer Callax gets to the ruling house and the girl who lives there, the more he learns, and the greater the danger. A danger he might not understand until it is too late. Callax thinks the Breaker’s defeat will save him, but he is wrong.

Additional information: Although Breaking Magic is part of the Legacy of Androva series, it can also be read independently. If you have read Controlling Magic and want to know more about Imbera, Breaking Magic is Cal’s story. The book retells part of Controlling Magic from Cal’s point of view. Recommended for lower young adult.


Continue reading

Review: Shadowblack

cover-shadowblackTitle: Shadowblack
Author: Sebastien de Castell
Series: Spellslinger #2
Genre: YA Fantasy
Length: Novel
Available: 5th Oct

stars_4


The second book in the page-turning SPELLSLINGER series for all teen, YA, adult and fantasy readers. 

It’s a few months since Kellen left his people behind. Now aged sixteen, Kellen is an outlaw, relying on his wits to keep him alive in the land of the Seven Sands. He misses home, he misses family and more than anything, he misses Nephenia, the girl he left behind. 

Then he meets Seneira, a blindfolded girl who isn’t blind, and who carries a secret that’s all too familiar to Kellen. Kellen and Ferius resolve to help – but the stakes are far higher than they realise. A Shadowblack plague is taking hold – and Kellen can’t help but suspect his own people may even be behind it. 

Perfect for fans of The Dark Tower, Firefly, The Hunger Games and Guardians of the Galaxy.


Continue reading

Review: Mask of Shadows

cover-mask-of-shadowsTitle: Mask of Shadows
Author: Linsey Miller
Series:
Genre: YA Fantasy
Length: Novel
Available: Now

stars_2


Sallot Leon is a thief, and a good one at that. But gender fluid Sal wants nothing more than to escape the drudgery of life as a highway robber and get closer to the upper-class and the nobles who destroyed their home. 

When Sal Leon steals a poster announcing open auditions for the Left Hand, a powerful collection of the Queen’s personal assassins named for the rings she wears — Ruby, Emerald, Amethyst, and Opal — their world changes. They know it’s a chance for a new life.

Except the audition is a fight to the death filled with clever circus acrobats, lethal apothecaries, and vicious ex-soldiers. A childhood as a common criminal hardly prepared Sal for the trials. But Sal must survive to put their real reason for auditioning into play: revenge.


Continue reading

Review: Flame in the Mist

cover-flame in the mistTitle: Flame in the Mist
Author: Renée Ahdieh
Series: Flame in the Mist #1
Genre: YA Fantasy
Length: Novel
Available: Now

stars_3


From the #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Wrath and the Dawn, comes a sweeping, action-packed YA adventure set against the backdrop of Feudal Japan.

Mariko has always known that being a woman means she’s not in control of her own fate. But Mariko is the daughter of a prominent samurai and a cunning alchemist in her own right, and she refuses to be ignored. When she is ambushed by a group of bandits known as the Black Clan enroute to a political marriage to Minamoto Raiden – the emperor’s son – Mariko realises she has two choices: she can wait to be rescued… or she can take matters into her own hands, hunt down the clan and find the person who wants her dead.

Disguising herself as a peasant boy, Mariko infiltrates the Black Clan’s hideout and befriends their leader, the rebel ronin Ranmaru, and his second-in-command, Okami. Ranmaru and Okami warm to Mariko, impressed by her intellect and ingenuity. But as Mariko gets closer to the Black Clan, she uncovers a dark history of secrets that will force her to question everything she’s ever known.


Continue reading

Review: Spellslinger

cover-spellslingerTitle: Spellslinger
Author: Sebastien de Castell
Series: Spellslinger #1
Genre: YA Fantasy
Length: Novel
Available: Now

stars_4


MAGIC IS A CON GAME.

Kellen is moments away from facing his first mage’s duel and the start of four trials that will make him a spellcaster. There’s just one problem: his magic is gone.

As his sixteenth birthday approaches, Kellen falls back on his cunning in a bid to avoid total disgrace. But when a daring stranger arrives in town, she challenges Kellen to take a different path.

Ferius Parfax is one of the mysterious Argosi – a traveller who lives by her wits and the three decks of cards she carries. She’s difficult and unpredictable, but she may be Kellen’s only hope…

The first in a rich and compelling fantasy series bursting with tricks, traps and a devious talking squirrel cat. Perfect for fans of THE DARK TOWER, FIREFLY, GUARDIANS OF THE GALAXY, TERRY PRATCHETT, BEN AARONOVITCH and JIM BUTCHER.


Continue reading