Review: Soulbinder

cover-soulbinder.pngTitle: Soulbinder
Author: Sebastien de Castell
Series: Spellslinger #4
Genre: YA Fantasy
Length: Novel
Available: Now

stars_3


The fourth book in the page-turning SPELLSLINGER fantasy series. 

Kellen and his murderous squirrel cat, Reichis, are on their own. They’ve heard rumour of a mythical monastery, known as the Ebony Abbey. It’s a place that outsiders can never find – but Kellen is getting desperate. He’s been told that the monks inside the Ebony Abbey know more about the Shadowblack than anyone else – and that they even know how to cure it.

Then Kellen and Reichis are separated and for the first time, Kellen must face the world alone – and venture deeper into shadow magic than he ever knew he could.

Perfect for fans of The Dark Tower, Firefly, Guardians of the Galaxy, Terry Pratchett, Ben Aaronovitch and Jim Butcher.


Continue reading

Advertisements

Review: Witchsign

cover-witchsignTitle: Witchsign
Author: Den Patrick
Series: Ashen Torment #1
Genre: YA Fantasy
Length: Novel
Available: Now

stars_3


From celebrated YA author Den Patrick comes WITCHSIGN, the first novel in a fresh and exciting new fantasy trilogy 

It has been seventy-five years since the dragons’ rule of fire and arcane magic over Vinkerveld was ended, and the Empire was born. Since, the tyrannical Synod has worked hard to banish all manifestations of the arcane across the lands. 

However, children are still born bearing the taint of the arcane, known to all as witchsign. So each year the Emperor sends out his Vigilants across the continent to detect the arcane in these children. Those found tainted are taken, and never seen again. Steiner has always suspected his sister Kjellrunn of bearing witchsign. But when their father’s attempt to protect her from the Invigilation backfires, it is Steiner who is mistakenly taken. However it is not death which awaits Steiner, but an Academy where the children with witchsign learn to master their powers – some at the cost of their lives. Steiner is determined to escape the Academy and protect his sister from this fate.

But powerful enemies await him at every turn, and Steiner finds himself taken on a journey straight into the heart of the Empire’s deepest secrets, which will force him to reconsider everything he has known about witchsign.


Continue reading

Review: The Cruel Prince

cover-cruel princeTitle: The Cruel Prince
Author: Holly Black
Series: Folk of the Air #1
Genre: YA Fantasy
Length: Novel
Available: Now

stars_3


Of course I want to be like them. They’re beautiful as blades forged in some divine fire. They will live forever.

And Cardan is even more beautiful than the rest. I hate him more than all the others. I hate him so much that sometimes when I look at him, I can hardly breathe.

Jude was seven when her parents were murdered and she and her two sisters were stolen away to live in the treacherous High Court of Faerie. Ten years later, Jude wants nothing more than to belong there, despite her mortality. But many of the fey despise humans. Especially Prince Cardan, the youngest and wickedest son of the High King.

To win a place at the Court, she must defy him–and face the consequences.

As Jude becomes more deeply embroiled in palace intrigues and deceptions, she discovers her own capacity for trickery and bloodshed. But as betrayal threatens to drown the Courts of Faerie in violence, Jude will need to risk her life in a dangerous alliance to save her sisters, and Faerie itself.


Continue reading

Review: Charmcaster

cover-charmcasterTitle: Charmcaster
Author: Sebastien de Castell
Series: Spellslinger #3
Genre: YA Fantasy
Length: Novel
Available: Now

stars_4


The third book in the page-turning Spellslinger fantasy series. 

‘I was getting almost as good at running away from enemies as I was at making them in the first place. Turns out, I wasn’t running nearly fast enough.’

Kellen has begun to master his spellslinging and the Argosi tricks for staying alive, and he and Reichis have found a career that suits them both: taking down mercenary mages who make people’s lives miserable. But Ferius is concerned that Kellen is courting disaster . . .

Perfect for fans of The Dark Tower, Firefly, Guardians of the Galaxy, Terry Pratchett, Ben Aaronovitch and Jim Butcher.


Continue reading

Review: Ariadnis

cover-ariadnisTitle: Ariadnis
Author: Josh Martin
Series: Erthe #1
Genre: YA Fantasy
Length: Novel
Available: Now

stars_2


Back then I thought that if it weren’t for that cliff, our cities would be one and there would be no need for all this fierceness toward each other. But then I learned about pride and tradition and prophecy, and those things are harder than rock.

Joomia and Aula are Chosen. They will never be normal. They can never be free.

On the last island on Erthe, Chosen Ones are destined to enter Ariadnis on the day they turn eighteen. There, they must undertake a mysterious and deadly challenge. For Joomia and Aula, this means competing against each other, to end the war that has seethed between their cities for nine generations.

As the day draws nearer, all thoughts are on the trial ahead. There’s no space for friendship. No time for love. However much the girls might crave them.

But how you prepare for a task you know nothing certain about? Nothing, except that you must win, at whatever cost, or lose everything.


Continue reading

Review: Surviving Magic

cover-surviving magicTitle: Surviving Magic
Author: Alex C. Vick
Series: Legacy of Androva #6
Genre: YA Fantasy
Length: Novel
Available: Now

stars_3


My name is Galen and I never wanted to know the future. Life as an underage magician on Androva was already complicated. Using illegal spells on professors, opening portals to strange new worlds, and trying to avoid being matched with the wrong girl.

Then I found the right girl and everything changed. I made some choices I can’t take back. I opened a doorway in time and now I know that a great evil is coming. I’m nearly seventeen and I’m a pretty good magician, but that won’t be nearly enough. No one on Androva will believe me – the runaway who chose love instead of duty. If I get this wrong, there’s a lot more than my own life at risk…

Although Surviving Magic is part of the Legacy of Androva series, it can also be read independently. However, if you have read Seeking Magic and want to know more about Galen, Surviving Magic is his story. The book retells part of Seeking Magic from Galen’s point of view. Suitable for lower young adult and older.


Continue reading

DNF: To Kill a Kingdom

cover-to kill a kingdomTitle: To Kill a Kingdom
Author: Alexandra Christo
Series: – –
Genre: YA Fantasy
Length: Novel
Available: 6th March

stars_1


Dark and romantic YA fantasy for fans of Sarah J Maas – about the siren with a taste for royal blood and the prince who has sworn to destroy her. 

Princess Lira is siren royalty and the most lethal of them all. With the hearts of seventeen princes in her collection, she is revered across the sea. Until a twist of fate forces her to kill one of her own. To punish her daughter, the Sea Queen transforms Lira into the one thing they loathe most – a human. Robbed of her song, Lira has until the winter solstice to deliver Prince Elian’s heart to the Sea Queen or remain a human forever. 

The ocean is the only place Prince Elian calls home, even though he is heir to the most powerful kingdom in the world. Hunting sirens is more than an unsavoury hobby – it’s his calling. When he rescues a drowning woman in the ocean, she’s more than what she appears. She promises to help him find the key to destroying all of sirenkind for good. But can he trust her? And just how many deals will Elian have to barter to eliminate mankind’s greatest enemy?


Continue reading