Review: Swimming Against the Storm

swimming against the stormTitle: Swimming Against the Storm
Author: Jess Butterworth
Series: – –
Genre: Children’s Fiction
Age Range: 9+
Available: Now

stars_4


An adventure story set in the swamplands of Louisiana about sisters, rising sea-levels and saving the environment, perfect for fans of Katherine Rundell and Lauren St John.

Our land is sinking. It’s disappearing into the water. And no one knows how to save it.

Twelve-year-old Eliza and her sister Avery have lived their entire lives in a small fishing village on the coast of Louisiana, growing up alongside turtles, pelicans and porpoises. But now, with sea levels rising, their home is at risk of being swept away.

Determined to save the land, Eliza and her younger sister Avery secretly go searching in the swamp for the dangerous, wolf-like loup-garou. If they can prove this legendary creature exists, they’re sure that the government will have to protect its habitat – and their community.

But there’s one problem: the loup-garou has never been seen before. And with a tropical storm approaching and the sisters deep, deep in the swampland, soon it’s not just their home at risk, but their lives as well…


Continue reading

Advertisements

Review: The Dog Who Saved the World

dog who saved the worldTitle: The Dog Who Saved The World
Author: Ross Welford
Series: – –
Genre: Middle Grade Sci-Fi(ish)
Age Range: 9+
Available: Now

stars_4


The astounding new novel from the bestselling and Costa-shortlisted author of Time Travelling with a Hamster, this is a story for everyone of ten and older who loves adventure, laughs and tears.

When eleven-year-old Georgie befriends an eccentric retired scientist, she becomes the test subject for a thrilling new experiment: a virtual-reality 3D version of the future.

But then a deadly disease threatens the life of every dog in the country and Georgie’s beloved dog, Mr Mash, gets sick. And that’s only the start of her troubles.

Soon, Georgie and Mr Mash must embark on a desperate quest: to save every dog on earth, and maybe even all of humanity …

… without actually leaving the room.

An extraordinary quest with the biggest stakes of all, and a huge idea at its heart, this is time travel – but not as you know it.

Continue reading

Review: The Girl with the Shark’s Teeth

girl with the shark's teethTitle: The Girl with the Shark’s Teeth
Author: Cerrie Burnell
Series: – –
Genre: Children’s Fantasy
Length: Novel
Available: Now

stars_4


Minnow is different from the other girls in her town and there’s plenty to set her apart: the blossom of pale scars which lie beneath Minnow’s delicate ears, the fact that she has an affinity with the water which leaves people speechless, and that once – she is sure – in deep, deep water, her body began to glow like a sunken star. 

When her mum gets into trouble and is taken from their boat in the dead of night, Minnow is alone with one instruction: sail to Reykjavik to find your grandmother, she will keep you safe. Minnow has never sailed on her own before, but the call of the deep is a call she’s been waiting to answer her whole young life. 

Perhaps a girl who is lost on land can be found in the Wild Deep. 

The stunning middle grade debut from Cerrie Burnell.


Continue reading

Review: A Darkness of Dragons

cover-darkness of dragonsTitle: A Darkness of Dragons
Author: S.A. Patrick
Series: Songs of Magic #1
Genre: Middle Grade Fantasy
Age Range: 9+
Available: Now

stars_4


After playing a forbidden spell-song to save a village from rats, 12-year-old piper Patch Brightwater is thrown in jail. But there he meets Wren – a noble girl under a rat-shaped curse – and together they befriend Barver, a fearsome dracogriff, and set off on a grand adventure filled with sorcerers, dragons, bandits…and one very deadly enemy.

From the depths of the Tiviscan dungeons to the highest peak of Gemspar Mountain, this stunning book reminds us of the soaring joy of adventure, the captivating danger of magic, and of the delight of finding friends in unexpected places.


Continue reading

Review: Storm

cover-stormTitle: Storm
Author: Sarah Driver
Series: The Huntress #3
Genre: Middle Grade Fantasy
Age Range: 9+
Available: Now

stars_3-5


Stag’s army marches on, and up in the Sky fortress of Hackles, Mouse tries to keep hopeful as allies from different Tribes join forces to fight him. Mouse is forbidden to leave the mountain – but when their leader is kidnapped, she knows she must go in search of the last Opal, even if this means breaking her promise to Da . . .

Mouse is soon heading for the lands of the bloodthirsty Fangtooths. And as rumours fly about the return of an ancient evil, Mouse knows that she and her crew will soon face their biggest battle – for their Tribes, for their lives – for their world as they know it. The storm is coming . . .


Continue reading

Review: Jungle Curse

cover-jungle curseTitle: Jungle Curse
Author: Tamsin Cooke
Series: Stunt Double #2
Genre: Middle Grade Adventure
Age Range: 9+
Available: Now

stars_4


An action-packed adventure story with an exciting film location setting. 

Fearless stunt double Finn is in Thailand working on the latest Rio Dinoni blockbuster. It’s a dream job, but are the whispers around set true? Is the film really cursed? When stunt, after stunt goes wrong; filming starts to get really dangerous. So far, Finn’s survived all sorts of smashes and crashes, even an elephant stampede, but it’s the secrets on set that might finally break him.


Continue reading

Review: The Lost Magician

cover-lost magicianTitle: The Lost Magician
Author: Piers Torday
Series: ?
Genre: Children’s Fantasy
Age Range: 9+
Available: Now

stars_3


‘If you can imagine it, it exists … somewhere’ The new spellbinding fantasy adventure from the bestselling, award-winning author of The Last Wild trilogy.

1945. They have survived the Blitz, but when Simon, Patricia, Evelyn and Larry step through a mysterious library door, it is the beginning of their most dangerous adventure yet. They discover the magical world of Folio, where an enchanted kingdom of fairy knights, bears and tree gods is under threat from a sinister robot army.

The many stories of the Library are locked in eternal war, and the children’s only hope is to find their creator – a magician who has been lost for centuries.

What they discover will change not just their own lives, but the fate of the world, for ever …

‘One of the best writers for children working today’
The Guardian


Continue reading