Review: Storm

cover-stormTitle: Storm
Author: Sarah Driver
Series: The Huntress #3
Genre: Middle Grade Fantasy
Age Range: 9+
Available: Now

stars_3-5


Stag’s army marches on, and up in the Sky fortress of Hackles, Mouse tries to keep hopeful as allies from different Tribes join forces to fight him. Mouse is forbidden to leave the mountain – but when their leader is kidnapped, she knows she must go in search of the last Opal, even if this means breaking her promise to Da . . .

Mouse is soon heading for the lands of the bloodthirsty Fangtooths. And as rumours fly about the return of an ancient evil, Mouse knows that she and her crew will soon face their biggest battle – for their Tribes, for their lives – for their world as they know it. The storm is coming . . .


Continue reading

Advertisements

Review: The Ice Swans

cover-ice swansTitle: The Ice Swans
Author: Anne Booth
Illustrator: Rosie Butcher
Series: Magical Kingdom of Birds
Age Range: 7+
Available: Now

stars_4


To the Keeper of this Book – it’s time for you to visit the magical Kingdom waiting within. Believe in yourself – that will give you wings to fly!

When Maya receives a special colouring book – The Magical Kingdom of Birds – she is transported to a beautiful realm filled with magnificent birds and their fairy friends. But the Kingdom is in trouble, wicked Lord Astor has frozen the Diamond Lake and turned its beautiful swans into ice statues. Can Maya, with the help of her friends Willow and Patch, break the enchantment and save the day? 

Packed with beautiful illustrations, information on the real birds that inspired the story, and a special colouring page!


Continue reading

Review: Jungle Curse

cover-jungle curseTitle: Jungle Curse
Author: Tamsin Cooke
Series: Stunt Double #2
Genre: Middle Grade Adventure
Age Range: 9+
Available: Now

stars_4


An action-packed adventure story with an exciting film location setting. 

Fearless stunt double Finn is in Thailand working on the latest Rio Dinoni blockbuster. It’s a dream job, but are the whispers around set true? Is the film really cursed? When stunt, after stunt goes wrong; filming starts to get really dangerous. So far, Finn’s survived all sorts of smashes and crashes, even an elephant stampede, but it’s the secrets on set that might finally break him.


Continue reading

Review: Witchsign

cover-witchsignTitle: Witchsign
Author: Den Patrick
Series: Ashen Torment #1
Genre: YA Fantasy
Length: Novel
Available: Now

stars_3


From celebrated YA author Den Patrick comes WITCHSIGN, the first novel in a fresh and exciting new fantasy trilogy 

It has been seventy-five years since the dragons’ rule of fire and arcane magic over Vinkerveld was ended, and the Empire was born. Since, the tyrannical Synod has worked hard to banish all manifestations of the arcane across the lands. 

However, children are still born bearing the taint of the arcane, known to all as witchsign. So each year the Emperor sends out his Vigilants across the continent to detect the arcane in these children. Those found tainted are taken, and never seen again. Steiner has always suspected his sister Kjellrunn of bearing witchsign. But when their father’s attempt to protect her from the Invigilation backfires, it is Steiner who is mistakenly taken. However it is not death which awaits Steiner, but an Academy where the children with witchsign learn to master their powers – some at the cost of their lives. Steiner is determined to escape the Academy and protect his sister from this fate.

But powerful enemies await him at every turn, and Steiner finds himself taken on a journey straight into the heart of the Empire’s deepest secrets, which will force him to reconsider everything he has known about witchsign.


Continue reading

Review: Walls

cover-wallsTitle: Walls
Author: Emma Fischel
Series: – –
Genre: Children’s Fantasy
Age Range: 9+
Available: Now

stars_4


An unforgettable hero. A fresh and unique voice. 

Meet Ned Harrison Arkle-Smith – he’s grumpy, bossy, and exasperating, but you can’t help liking him. Oh, and he’s just discovered he can walk through walls . . . 
Ned’s world is collapsing. His parents have split up, his best friend is behaving strangely, he has an awful new neighbour, and Snapper is making his life a misery.

In fact NOBODY is behaving the way Ned wants. 

And then there’s the wall. Right down the middle of Ivy Lodge and cutting up Ned’s life. A big brick reminder of all that’s going wrong in his life. Until, that is, the night when Ned discovers he has an astonishing new skill . . . 

A fun and intriguing concept that readers will delight in. Perfect for fans of Ross Welford and Lara Williamson.


Continue reading

Review: The Sleepy Hummingbirds

cover-sleepy hummingbirdsTitle: The Sleepy Hummingbirds
Series: Magical Kingdom of Birds
Author: Anne Booth
Illustrator: Rosie Butcher
Age Range: 7+
Available: Now

stars_4


To the Keeper of this Book – it’s time for you to visit the magical Kingdom waiting within. Believe in yourself – that will give you wings to fly!

When Maya receives a special colouring book – The Magical Kingdom of Birds – she is transported to a beautiful realm filled with magnificent birds and their fairy friends. But the kingdom is in trouble – evil Lord Astor has a plan to capture and cage the tiniest residents, the hummingbirds – and as Keeper of the Book it’s up to Maya to protect them. 

Packed with beautiful illustrations, information on the real birds that inspired the story, and includes a special colouring page!


Continue reading

Review: Ariadnis

cover-ariadnisTitle: Ariadnis
Author: Josh Martin
Series: Erthe #1
Genre: YA Fantasy
Length: Novel
Available: Now

stars_2


Back then I thought that if it weren’t for that cliff, our cities would be one and there would be no need for all this fierceness toward each other. But then I learned about pride and tradition and prophecy, and those things are harder than rock.

Joomia and Aula are Chosen. They will never be normal. They can never be free.

On the last island on Erthe, Chosen Ones are destined to enter Ariadnis on the day they turn eighteen. There, they must undertake a mysterious and deadly challenge. For Joomia and Aula, this means competing against each other, to end the war that has seethed between their cities for nine generations.

As the day draws nearer, all thoughts are on the trial ahead. There’s no space for friendship. No time for love. However much the girls might crave them.

But how you prepare for a task you know nothing certain about? Nothing, except that you must win, at whatever cost, or lose everything.


Continue reading