Review: How to Train Your Dragon – The Ultimate Edition

cover-httyd seTitle: How to Train Your Dragon – The Ultimate Edition
Author: Cressida Cowell
Series: How to Train Your Dragon #1
Age Range: 7+
Available: Now

stars_4


WELCOME TO THE BOOK THAT STARTED IT ALL … now a beautiful hardback with colour illustrations and all 48 collector cards. This gift book is a must-have for all How to Train Your Dragon fans.

Hiccup Horrendous Haddock the Third is a smallish Viking with a longish name. The HAIRY HOOLIGAN TRIBE think he’s totally useless, but Hiccup is about to face his destiny … and one tiny dragon.

Can he prove his worth and become a HERO, or will he be banished for ever?


Continue reading

Advertisements

Review: Twice Magic

cover-twice magicTitle: Twice Magic
Author: Cressida Cowell
Series: Wizards of Once #2
Genre: Middle Grade Fantasy
Age Range: 9+
Available: Now

stars_4


This was once the story of a young boy Wizard and a young girl Warrior who had been taught since birth to hate each other like poison.

But now, the boy Wizard and girl Warrior have been brought together in the Badwoods and they have witnessed the shocking consequences of the Stone That Takes Away Magic. They will need to cast aside their differences once more–for an Evil Spell has broken free.

It’s up to Xar and Wish to find the ingredients. But it means entering dangerous territory unannounced…

Cressida Cowell brings her trademark wit to this spellbinding sequel, along with the stunning artwork and heartfelt adventure that has made her beloved around the world, weaving a story that is sure to transport readers to a world that will enchant and bewitch them.


Continue reading

Review: Walls

cover-wallsTitle: Walls
Author: Emma Fischel
Series: – –
Genre: Children’s Fantasy
Age Range: 9+
Available: Now

stars_4


An unforgettable hero. A fresh and unique voice. 

Meet Ned Harrison Arkle-Smith – he’s grumpy, bossy, and exasperating, but you can’t help liking him. Oh, and he’s just discovered he can walk through walls . . . 
Ned’s world is collapsing. His parents have split up, his best friend is behaving strangely, he has an awful new neighbour, and Snapper is making his life a misery.

In fact NOBODY is behaving the way Ned wants. 

And then there’s the wall. Right down the middle of Ivy Lodge and cutting up Ned’s life. A big brick reminder of all that’s going wrong in his life. Until, that is, the night when Ned discovers he has an astonishing new skill . . . 

A fun and intriguing concept that readers will delight in. Perfect for fans of Ross Welford and Lara Williamson.


Continue reading

Review: … A Case of Bad Magic

cover-a case of bad magicTitle: Goodly and Grave in a Case of Bad Magic
Author: Justine Windsor
Illustrator: Becka Moor
Series: Goodly and Grave #3
Age Range: 9+
Available: Now

stars_5


The third adventure in this sharp-witted mystery series with a magical twist.

Lord Grave is hosting a special ball at Grave Hall, and Lucy Goodly can’t wait to see powerful magicians from all over the world gathered in one place. But alarming events in Grave Village threaten to overshadow the glittering occasion. Who are the strange children attacking Lucy’s friends? What do they want? And why are his lordship, Vonk the butler and even little Violet, the scullery maid, behaving so oddly? Could it be to do with the same dark forces that were overthrown exactly a hundred years ago?

It’s up to Lucy to solve the mysteries before magicians everywhere are put in mortal peril.

The third Goodly and Grave page-turning mystery with a magical twist.


Continue reading

Review: Charmcaster

cover-charmcasterTitle: Charmcaster
Author: Sebastien de Castell
Series: Spellslinger #3
Genre: YA Fantasy
Length: Novel
Available: Now

stars_4


The third book in the page-turning Spellslinger fantasy series. 

‘I was getting almost as good at running away from enemies as I was at making them in the first place. Turns out, I wasn’t running nearly fast enough.’

Kellen has begun to master his spellslinging and the Argosi tricks for staying alive, and he and Reichis have found a career that suits them both: taking down mercenary mages who make people’s lives miserable. But Ferius is concerned that Kellen is courting disaster . . .

Perfect for fans of The Dark Tower, Firefly, Guardians of the Galaxy, Terry Pratchett, Ben Aaronovitch and Jim Butcher.


Continue reading

Review: Dragon Magic

cover-dragon magicTitle: Dragon Magic
Author: Megan Derr
Series: – –
Genre: M/M Fantasy Romance
Length: Novel
Available: Now

stars_3-5


Four strangers. A shared moment long forgotten. A bond forged in desperation.

On the first day of the Festival of Counting, the beginning of the royal census that takes place every ten years, the royal city is filled to overflowing. Everyone is happy, excited, and proud to be counted amongst those who live in the glorious kingdom of Orhanis.

Then a demon strikes, killing thousands in mere seconds and leveling the city. As the royal castle burns, only four men remain to drive the demon away—and in their desperation, accidentally bind themselves together in a legendary Oath, unable to part ways until they find and kill the demon once and for all.

Mahzan, the King’s Jester, an orphan who clawed his way to the top and hides a fearsome magic… Sule, the notorious North Captain, who sacrificed everything to live as a strong, capable, highly respected man… Cemal, a priest who traveled the continent bent on revenge and now lives lost… and Binhadi, the mercurial shadow mage with a dark history and bloody ties to the throne… 

Four men used to standing apart, standing alone, who must learn to stand together if they hope to save themselves and all of Orhanis.


Continue reading

Review: Shadowblack

cover-shadowblackTitle: Shadowblack
Author: Sebastien de Castell
Series: Spellslinger #2
Genre: YA Fantasy
Length: Novel
Available: 5th Oct

stars_4


The second book in the page-turning SPELLSLINGER series for all teen, YA, adult and fantasy readers. 

It’s a few months since Kellen left his people behind. Now aged sixteen, Kellen is an outlaw, relying on his wits to keep him alive in the land of the Seven Sands. He misses home, he misses family and more than anything, he misses Nephenia, the girl he left behind. 

Then he meets Seneira, a blindfolded girl who isn’t blind, and who carries a secret that’s all too familiar to Kellen. Kellen and Ferius resolve to help – but the stakes are far higher than they realise. A Shadowblack plague is taking hold – and Kellen can’t help but suspect his own people may even be behind it. 

Perfect for fans of The Dark Tower, Firefly, The Hunger Games and Guardians of the Galaxy.


Continue reading