Review: …A Deadly Case of Murder

cover-a deadly case of murderTitle: Goodly and Grave in A Deadly Case of Murder
Author: Justine Windsor
Illustrator: Becka Moor
Series: Goodly and Grave #2
Age Range: 9+
Available: 27th July

stars_4


The second page-turning adventure in this sharp-witted, magical mystery series

When reports come in that valuable magical objects are being stolen, Goodly and Grave are on the case, but just when they think they know whodunit their prime suspect turns up – murdered! Will Lucy be able to track the real villain without putting herself in deadly danger?


Continue reading

Review: Spellslinger

cover-spellslingerTitle: Spellslinger
Author: Sebastien de Castell
Series: Spellslinger #1
Genre: YA Fantasy
Length: Novel
Available: Now

stars_4


MAGIC IS A CON GAME.

Kellen is moments away from facing his first mage’s duel and the start of four trials that will make him a spellcaster. There’s just one problem: his magic is gone.

As his sixteenth birthday approaches, Kellen falls back on his cunning in a bid to avoid total disgrace. But when a daring stranger arrives in town, she challenges Kellen to take a different path.

Ferius Parfax is one of the mysterious Argosi – a traveller who lives by her wits and the three decks of cards she carries. She’s difficult and unpredictable, but she may be Kellen’s only hope…

The first in a rich and compelling fantasy series bursting with tricks, traps and a devious talking squirrel cat. Perfect for fans of THE DARK TOWER, FIREFLY, GUARDIANS OF THE GALAXY, TERRY PRATCHETT, BEN AARONOVITCH and JIM BUTCHER.


Continue reading

Review: Goodly and Grave in a Bad Case of Kidnap

cover-a bad case of kidnapTitle: Goodly and Grave in a Bad Case of Kidnap
Author: Justine Windsor
Illustrator: Becka Moor
Series: Goodly and Grave #1
Genre: MG/Children’s Fantasy
Age Range: 9+
Available: Now

stars_4


Lucy Goodly is the new boot girl at Grave Hall, working for the cold, aloof Lord Grave. The other staff – Vonk the Butler, Mrs Crawley the cook and Violet the scullery maid – all seem friendly but Lucy soon notices that strange things are afoot in her new home – and not just Mrs Crawley’s experimental anchovy omelettes. There are moving statues, magical books and Lord Grave has a secret. Meanwhile, all over the country, children are vanishing. Could the mystery of the missing children be linked to the strange goings-on? Lucy is determined to find out…


Continue reading

Review: Fool’s Gold

cover-fool's goldTitle: Fool’s Gold
Author: Jon Hollins
Series: Dragon Lords #1
Genre: Fantasy
Length: Novel
Available: Now

star_fullstar_fullstar_fullstar_fullstar_full


A brand new adventure fantasy: imagine Guardians of the Galaxy planning a heist on Smaug’s gold, for fans looking for something with a modern twist and some humor.

Guardians of the Galaxy meets The Hobbit in this rollicking fantasy adventure.

It’s not easy to live in a world ruled by dragons. The taxes are high and their control is complete. But for one group of bold misfits, it’s time to band together and steal back some of that wealth.

No one said they were smart.


Continue reading