Review: Walls

cover-wallsTitle: Walls
Author: Emma Fischel
Series: – –
Genre: Children’s Fantasy
Age Range: 9+
Available: Now

stars_4


An unforgettable hero. A fresh and unique voice. 

Meet Ned Harrison Arkle-Smith – he’s grumpy, bossy, and exasperating, but you can’t help liking him. Oh, and he’s just discovered he can walk through walls . . . 
Ned’s world is collapsing. His parents have split up, his best friend is behaving strangely, he has an awful new neighbour, and Snapper is making his life a misery.

In fact NOBODY is behaving the way Ned wants. 

And then there’s the wall. Right down the middle of Ivy Lodge and cutting up Ned’s life. A big brick reminder of all that’s going wrong in his life. Until, that is, the night when Ned discovers he has an astonishing new skill . . . 

A fun and intriguing concept that readers will delight in. Perfect for fans of Ross Welford and Lara Williamson.


Continue reading

Advertisements

Review: … A Case of Bad Magic

cover-a case of bad magicTitle: Goodly and Grave in a Case of Bad Magic
Author: Justine Windsor
Illustrator: Becka Moor
Series: Goodly and Grave #3
Age Range: 9+
Available: Now

stars_5


The third adventure in this sharp-witted mystery series with a magical twist.

Lord Grave is hosting a special ball at Grave Hall, and Lucy Goodly can’t wait to see powerful magicians from all over the world gathered in one place. But alarming events in Grave Village threaten to overshadow the glittering occasion. Who are the strange children attacking Lucy’s friends? What do they want? And why are his lordship, Vonk the butler and even little Violet, the scullery maid, behaving so oddly? Could it be to do with the same dark forces that were overthrown exactly a hundred years ago?

It’s up to Lucy to solve the mysteries before magicians everywhere are put in mortal peril.

The third Goodly and Grave page-turning mystery with a magical twist.


Continue reading

Review: Charmcaster

cover-charmcasterTitle: Charmcaster
Author: Sebastien de Castell
Series: Spellslinger #3
Genre: YA Fantasy
Length: Novel
Available: Now

stars_4


The third book in the page-turning Spellslinger fantasy series. 

‘I was getting almost as good at running away from enemies as I was at making them in the first place. Turns out, I wasn’t running nearly fast enough.’

Kellen has begun to master his spellslinging and the Argosi tricks for staying alive, and he and Reichis have found a career that suits them both: taking down mercenary mages who make people’s lives miserable. But Ferius is concerned that Kellen is courting disaster . . .

Perfect for fans of The Dark Tower, Firefly, Guardians of the Galaxy, Terry Pratchett, Ben Aaronovitch and Jim Butcher.


Continue reading

Review: Dragon Magic

cover-dragon magicTitle: Dragon Magic
Author: Megan Derr
Series: – –
Genre: M/M Fantasy Romance
Length: Novel
Available: Now

stars_3-5


Four strangers. A shared moment long forgotten. A bond forged in desperation.

On the first day of the Festival of Counting, the beginning of the royal census that takes place every ten years, the royal city is filled to overflowing. Everyone is happy, excited, and proud to be counted amongst those who live in the glorious kingdom of Orhanis.

Then a demon strikes, killing thousands in mere seconds and leveling the city. As the royal castle burns, only four men remain to drive the demon away—and in their desperation, accidentally bind themselves together in a legendary Oath, unable to part ways until they find and kill the demon once and for all.

Mahzan, the King’s Jester, an orphan who clawed his way to the top and hides a fearsome magic… Sule, the notorious North Captain, who sacrificed everything to live as a strong, capable, highly respected man… Cemal, a priest who traveled the continent bent on revenge and now lives lost… and Binhadi, the mercurial shadow mage with a dark history and bloody ties to the throne… 

Four men used to standing apart, standing alone, who must learn to stand together if they hope to save themselves and all of Orhanis.


Continue reading

Review: Shadowblack

cover-shadowblackTitle: Shadowblack
Author: Sebastien de Castell
Series: Spellslinger #2
Genre: YA Fantasy
Length: Novel
Available: 5th Oct

stars_4


The second book in the page-turning SPELLSLINGER series for all teen, YA, adult and fantasy readers. 

It’s a few months since Kellen left his people behind. Now aged sixteen, Kellen is an outlaw, relying on his wits to keep him alive in the land of the Seven Sands. He misses home, he misses family and more than anything, he misses Nephenia, the girl he left behind. 

Then he meets Seneira, a blindfolded girl who isn’t blind, and who carries a secret that’s all too familiar to Kellen. Kellen and Ferius resolve to help – but the stakes are far higher than they realise. A Shadowblack plague is taking hold – and Kellen can’t help but suspect his own people may even be behind it. 

Perfect for fans of The Dark Tower, Firefly, The Hunger Games and Guardians of the Galaxy.


Continue reading

Review: The Wizards of Once

cover-wizards of once.jpgTitle: The Wizards of Once
Author: Cressida Cowell
Series: Wizards of Once #1
Genre: Middle Grade Fantasy
Age Range: 9+
Available: Sept 19th

stars_5


From the bestselling author of How to Train Your Dragon comes an exciting high-adventure series – set in an ancient, magical time, full of Wizards, Warriors, Giants and Sprites.

This is the story of a young boy Wizard and a young girl Warrior who have been taught to hate each other like poison; and the thrilling tale of what happens when their two worlds collide.

Perfect for boys and girls who love fantasy adventure …

Once there was Magic, and the Magic lived in the dark forests.

Wizard boy, Xar, should have come in to his magic by now, but he hasn’t, so he wants to find a witch and steal its magic for himself. But if he’s got any chance of finding one, he will have to travel into the forbidden Badwoods.

Xar doesn’t realise he is about to capture an entirely different kind of enemy. A Warrior girl called Wish.

And inside this book, at this very moment, two worlds collide and the fate of the land is changed forever.

In a whirlwind adventure, Xar and Wish must visit the dungeons at Warrior fort, and face the evil Queen.

But something that has been sleeping for hundreds of years is stirring …


Continue reading

Review: …A Deadly Case of Murder

cover-a deadly case of murderTitle: Goodly and Grave in A Deadly Case of Murder
Author: Justine Windsor
Illustrator: Becka Moor
Series: Goodly and Grave #2
Age Range: 9+
Available: 27th July

stars_4


The second page-turning adventure in this sharp-witted, magical mystery series

When reports come in that valuable magical objects are being stolen, Goodly and Grave are on the case, but just when they think they know whodunit their prime suspect turns up – murdered! Will Lucy be able to track the real villain without putting herself in deadly danger?


Continue reading