Review: School for Skylarks

cover-school for skylarksTitle: School for Skylarks
Author: Sam Angus
Series: – –
Genre: Children’s Fiction
Age Range: 9+
Available: 27th July

stars_5


It is 1939. When Lyla is evacuated from her home in London to her Great-Aunt’s enormous house in the West Country, she expects to be lonely. She has never been to school nor had any friends, and her parents have been at the centre of a scandal. But with the house being used to accommodate an entire school of evacuated schoolgirls, there’s no time to think about her old life.

Soon there is a horse in a first-floor bedroom and a ferret in Lyla’s sock drawer, hordes of schoolgirls have overrun the house, and Lyla finds out that friends come in all shapes and sizes.


Continue reading

Review: Wish Trap

cover-wish trapTitle: Wish Trap
Author: Linda Chapman
Illustrator: Lucy Fleming
Series: Star Friends #2
Age Range: 7+
Available: Now

stars_4


Do you believe in magic? 

Ionie and her friends do! When they meet the Star Animals, a whole world of adventure unfolds. Ionie and her star animal, a wildcat called Sorrel, must use their special powers to stop the forces of dark magic.

When a young girl, Paige, wishes she could be on the gym team, she doesn’t realise that a Wish Shade hiding in her garden will make it come true – in the worst way imaginable. Can the Star Friends stop the girls from getting hurt and send the Wish Shade back to where it came from?

Perfect for fans of My Secret Unicorn and The Rescue Princesses, and for Rainbow Magic readers looking to move on to a more challenging adventure.


Continue reading

Review: Sea

cover-seaTitle: Sea
Author: Sarah Driver
Series: The Huntress #1
Genre: Middle Grade Fantasy
Length: Novel
Available: Now

stars_3-5


In the sky, the fire spirits dance and ripple. Grandma says they showed our Tribe that I’d be a captain, before I was even born.

Ever since Ma died, Mouse has looked after her little brother, Sparrow, dreaming of her destiny as captain of the Huntress. But now Da’s missing, Sparrow is in danger, and a deathly cold is creeping across Trianukka . . .

Sea-churning, beast-chattering, dream-dancing, whale-riding, terrodyl-flying, world-saving adventure. The first book in a stunning new fantasy adventure trilogy, perfect for readers aged 9+ and fans of Philip Pullman, Piers Torday, Abi Elphinstone, Katherine Rundell and Frances Hardinge.


Continue reading

Review: …A Deadly Case of Murder

cover-a deadly case of murderTitle: Goodly and Grave in A Deadly Case of Murder
Author: Justine Windsor
Illustrator: Becka Moor
Series: Goodly and Grave #2
Age Range: 9+
Available: 27th July

stars_4


The second page-turning adventure in this sharp-witted, magical mystery series

When reports come in that valuable magical objects are being stolen, Goodly and Grave are on the case, but just when they think they know whodunit their prime suspect turns up – murdered! Will Lucy be able to track the real villain without putting herself in deadly danger?


Continue reading

Review: Welcome to the Jungle

cover-welcome to the jungleTitle: Welcome to the Jungle
Author: Hacker Murphy
Illustrator: Lucie Ebrey
Series: Creeper Files #2
Age Range: 9+
Available: Now

stars_4


Mother Nature has never been creepier.

EXCLUSIVE: Investigator Hacker Murphy makes Creeper Files, detailing the nefarious activities of the most evil man/plant ever known, available for the first time. Hacker Murphy is chasing a story about a green-fingered villain who calls himself The Creeper, and these are his latest case files.

The Creeper is back, and this time he’s REALLY angry. His has complete control over all things green, and this time the gardening gloves are off! Warning: The Plantocalypse is about to begin.


Continue reading

Review: The Root of All Evil

cover-root of all evilTitle: The Root of All Evil
Author: Hacker Murphy
Illustrator: Lucie Ebrey
Series: Creeper Files #1
Age Range: 9+
Available: Now

stars_5


EXCLUSIVE: Investigator Hacker Murphy makes Creeper Files, detailing the nefarious activities of the most evil man/plant ever known, available for the first time.

There’s evil on the loose. Jake’s dog knows there’s a problem: why won’t he go into the garden on his own? Jake’s friends know there’s a problem: who’s the strange figure lurking in their garden? Jake knows there’s a problem: what is the terrifying viney creature he is running away from?! Jake’s mum has no idea there’s a problem: she’s a grown-up, you know what they’re like.

You’ll never look at a potato in the same way again …Perfect for fans of Doctor Who and Scooby Doo.


Continue reading

Review: Sky Thieves

cover-sky thievesTitle: Sky Thieves
Author: Dan Walker
Series: Sky Thieves #1
Genre: Children’s/MG Fantasy
Age Range: 11+
Available: Now

stars_3


Love Pirates of the Caribbean? Then prepared to be swept away by this new swashbuckling adventure series.

Talented debut author, Dan Walker, creates an imaginative world where thieves sail the skies in flying galleons-an action-packed adventure of epic scale.

Zoya DeLarose has no idea her life is about to change forever when a band of sky thieves ‘steal’ her away from her orphanage, landing up in the clouds, on board the Dragonfly’s deck. There, Zoya discovers a world of meteorite storms, sword fights, midnight raids, floating islands, and long lost treasure. But with a deadly enemy closing in, will Zoya find the strength to face her fears and unlock the key to her destiny, or will she fall from the skies with no one left to break her fall?


Continue reading