Review: Kat Wolfe Investigates

cover-kat wolfe investigatesTitle: Kat Wolfe Investigates
Author: Lauren St John
Series: Wolfe and Lamb Mysteries #1
Genre: Middle Grade Mystery
Age Range: 11+
Available: 17th May

stars_4


After a break-in at their London home, Kat Wolfe and her veterinary-surgeon mum decide it’s time to move to the country. Dr Wolfe’s new job in idyllic Bluebell Bay on Dorset’s Jurassic Coast comes with a condition: they have to adopt Tiny, a huge, near-wild Savannah, who resists Kat’s best attempts at cat whispering.

When she starts a pet-sitting agency to make pocket money, her troubles escalate. The owner of her first client, an Amazon parrot, vanishes from his fortified, gadget-filled mansion, leaving a half-packed suitcase and a mysterious parcel. The only person who shares Kat’s conviction that he’s the victim of foul play is Harper Lamb, the American daughter of a palaeontology professor. A language and coding whizz, Harper is laid up with two broken legs thanks to her racehorse, the ‘Pocket Rocket’ – Kat’s newest client. What starts out as mystery-solving holiday fun quickly turns deadly for Wolfe and Lamb. When all clues point to an army base, can they count on their unruly animal friends to save the day – and their lives?


Continue reading

Advertisements

Review: In the Mouth of the Wolf

cover-in the mouth of the wolfTitle: In the Mouth of the Wolf
Author: Michael Morpurgo
Illustrator: Barroux
Genre: Children’s Fiction (WW2)
Age Range: 9+
Available: Now

stars_5


From master storyteller Michael Morpurgo and award-winning artist Barroux comes a true story of bravery, sadness and hope, set against the backdrop of World War Two.

A true story of two brothers and the war that changed everything. 

Michael Morpurgo’s wonderful storytelling and Barroux’s stunning artwork combine to tell the true story of Michael’s uncles during World War Two. 

Francis and Pieter are brothers. As shadow of one war lingers, and the rumbles of another approach, the brothers argue. Francis is a fierce pacifist, while Pieter signs up to fight. What happens next will change the course of Francis’s life forever . . . and throw him into the mouth of the wolf.


Continue reading

Review: Connecting Magic

cover-connecting magicTitle: Connecting Magic
Author: Alex C. Vick
Series: Legacy of Androva #7
Genre: Teen Fantasy
Age Range: 11+
Available: Now

stars_4


Shannon, Jax, Darius, and Penny are underage magicians from different worlds. They have defeated the worst of villains and forged a bond that will last for the rest of their lives. But there’s no happy ever after yet. In fact, death might be waiting right around the corner, and they have no idea just how fast the clock is ticking. 

Problem one: A magical contract, created when Jax and Shannon first met, has recently been triggered, and its life-threatening consequences appear to be unavoidable. 
Problem two: Magic obeys the magician. It has no conscience. No filter for good or evil. And Darius is about to demonstrate that a good magician is more than capable of using evil magic. 

With Jax and Shannon distracted by the first problem, Penny may not survive the second. Whatever happens, one of the four will face certain death before the end… 

The Legacy of Androva is a complete series of contemporary fantasy books for lower young adult / upper middle grade. The stories are self-contained, with no cliffhangers in between books.


Continue reading

Review: Controlling Magic

cover-controlling magicTitle: Controlling Magic
Author: Alex C. Vick
Series: Legacy of Androva #4
Genre: Fantasy
Age Range: 9+
Available: Now

stars_4


Far away, on a world of rock and water, live a brother and sister. They have a special talent. So special that, when applied correctly, it enables them to live forever. Androva hasn’t visited this world since before the Treaty. It was so horrified by what it found there, it closed the portals and never went back. 

Right now on Androva, everyone is trying to come up with the best Entertainment Spell for the Spring Festival. And there is also an important question to answer. Just how many magicians should Terra be allowed to have anyway? No-one realises that there is a deadly enemy lurking in the background. An enemy so devious that it can get your own force field to work against you.

Jax has been saying he wants to go to Imbera since the end of Seeking Magic. He doesn’t realise that Imbera is actually coming for him. Be careful what you wish for…

The Legacy of Androva is a series of contemporary fantasy books, for middle grade and older. The stories are self-contained, with no cliffhangers in between books.


Continue reading

Review: Dark Tricks

cover-dark tricksTitle: Dark Tricks
Author: Linda Chapman
Illustrator: Lucy Fleming
Series: Star Friends #4
Age Range: 7+
Available: 5th April

stars_5


Do you believe in magic? Sita and her friends do! When they meet the Star Animals, a whole world of adventure unfolds. Sita and her star animal, a deer called Willow, must use their special powers to stop the forces of dark magic.

As the Star Friends’ ability to use their magic gets stronger, the forces of dark magic working against them become more intense, too. But the person using dark magic is taking risks – can the girls find out who their enemy is and confront them once and for all?

Perfect for fans of MY SECRET UNICORN and THE RESCUE PRINCESSES and for RAINBOW MAGIC readers looking to move on to a more challenging adventure.


Continue reading

Review: Purple Hearts

cover-purple heartsTitle: Purple Hearts
Author: Michael Grant
Series: Front Lines #3
Genre: YA Alternative History
Length: Novel
Available: Now

stars_4


Third and final instalment of this critically acclaimed young adult alternative historical series that began with Front Linesand Silver Stars

It’s 1944, and it feels to everyone like the war will never end. Rio Richlin, Frangie Marr and Rainie Shulterman have all received accolades, been ‘heroes’, earned promotion – in short, they’ve all done ‘enough’ to allow them to leave this nightmare and go home. But they don’t.

D-Day, June 6th 1944. On that day, many still doubted the American soldier.

By June 7th no one did.


Continue reading

Review: Secret Spell

cover-secret spellTitle: Secret Spell
Author: Linda Chapman
Illustrator: Lucy Fleming
Series: Star Friends #3
Age Range: 7+
Available: Now

stars_4


Do you believe in magic?

Maia and her friends do! And when they meet the Star Animals, a whole world of magical adventure unfolds.

Someone in the village is using dark magic and the Star Friends need to work together to figure it out who it is. But things keep going wrong! Sita is convinced a Shade is following her, Lottie is sure she’s going to fail her piano exam and Ionie thinks the others don’t want to be her friends. Only Maia seems her usual self. She needs to find out what is happening and how to stop it!

Perfect for fans of My Secret Unicorn and The Rescue Princesses, and for Rainbow Magic readers looking to move on to a more challenging adventure.


Continue reading