Review: …A Deadly Case of Murder

cover-a deadly case of murderTitle: Goodly and Grave in A Deadly Case of Murder
Author: Justine Windsor
Illustrator: Becka Moor
Series: Goodly and Grave #2
Age Range: 9+
Available: 27th July

stars_4


The second page-turning adventure in this sharp-witted, magical mystery series

When reports come in that valuable magical objects are being stolen, Goodly and Grave are on the case, but just when they think they know whodunit their prime suspect turns up – murdered! Will Lucy be able to track the real villain without putting herself in deadly danger?


Continue reading

Advertisements

Review: Goodly and Grave in a Bad Case of Kidnap

cover-a bad case of kidnapTitle: Goodly and Grave in a Bad Case of Kidnap
Author: Justine Windsor
Illustrator: Becka Moor
Series: Goodly and Grave #1
Genre: MG/Children’s Fantasy
Age Range: 9+
Available: Now

stars_4


Lucy Goodly is the new boot girl at Grave Hall, working for the cold, aloof Lord Grave. The other staff – Vonk the Butler, Mrs Crawley the cook and Violet the scullery maid – all seem friendly but Lucy soon notices that strange things are afoot in her new home – and not just Mrs Crawley’s experimental anchovy omelettes. There are moving statues, magical books and Lord Grave has a secret. Meanwhile, all over the country, children are vanishing. Could the mystery of the missing children be linked to the strange goings-on? Lucy is determined to find out…


Continue reading

Review: The Christmas Promise

cover-xmas promise.pngTitle: The Christmas Promise
Author: Sue Moorcroft
Series: – –
Genre: Women’s Fiction/Chick Lit
Length: Novel
Available: Now

star_fullstar_fullstar_fullstar_nonestar_none


For Ava Bliss, it’s going to be a Christmas to remember …

On a snowy December evening, Sam Jermyn steps into the life of bespoke hat maker Ava. Sparks fly, and not necessarily the good ones.

Times are tough for Ava – she’s struggling to make ends meet, her ex-boyfriend is a bully, and worst of all, it’s nearly Christmas.

So when Sam commissions Ava to make a hat for someone special, she makes a promise that will change her life. She just doesn’t know it yet…


Continue reading

Review: The Fox and the Ghost King

cover-the fox and the ghost king.pngTitle: The Fox and the Ghost King
Author: Michael Morpurgo
Illustrator: Michael Foreman
Genre: Children’s Fiction
Age Range: 6+
Available: 22nd Sept

star_fullstar_fullstar_fullstar_fullstar_none


A delightful tale of victory against all odds from master storyteller, Michael Morpurgo, lavishly illustrated by Michael Foreman.

“Every fox in the whole town, in the whole country just about, is a football fan… And we all have an impossible dream.”

In a cosy den under a garden shed lives a family of foxes. They love to watch football – all foxes do. But their favourite team keeps losing and losing, and it seems like things will never look up.

That is, until Daddy Fox finds the ghost of a king, buried underneath a car park. A king who wishes only to be free.

“Release me,” says the Ghost King, “and I can do anything. Just tell me your greatest wish.”

For these football-loving foxes, might everything be about to change…?


Continue reading

Review: Family Tree

cover-family treeTitle: Family Tree
Author: Susan Wiggs
Series: ?
Genre: Woman’s Fiction/Contemporary Romance
Length: Novel
Available: 28th July (UK)/9th Aug (US)

star_fullstar_fullstar_fullstar_fullstar_none


A heartwarming novel from the New York Times bestselling author. Perfect for fans of Love Letters and Summer at Willow Lake.

Annie Rush seems to have it all, a handsome husband and their fabulous life in Manhattan. But all of that is snatched away when she is involved is a life-changing accident. Awakening from a coma a year later, Annie finds that the life she knew has crumbled away.

In the throes of grief, Annie grasps her new reality – she has to start over from scratch, which means heading home. Annie couldn’t wait to escape the small town where she grew up, but now she finds herself warming to the close-knit community and its homespun values.

There’s also a face from the distant past − Donovan Lynch − and all the reasons she’s never quite forgotten him come flooding back. Annie expects to pull herself together and return to the city, but fate has other plans …


Continue reading

Review: Enchanted Glass

cover-enchanted glass.jpgTitle: Enchanted Glass
Author: Diana Wynne Jones
Series: – –
Genre: Children’s Fantasy
Age Range: 11+
Length: Novel
Available: Now

star_fullstar_fullstar_fullstar_nonestar_none


When Andrew Hope’s magician grandfather dies, he leaves his house and field-of-care to his grandson who spent much of his childhood at the house. Into this mix comes young Aidan Cain, who turns up from the orphanage asking for safety. Who he is and why he’s there is unclear, but a strong connection between the two becomes apparent.


Continue reading

Review: One Hot Summer

cover-one hot summerTitle: One Hot Summer
Author: Kat French
Series: – –
Genre: Contemporary Romance
Length: Novel
Available: June 2nd (UK) (Aug 2nd US)

star_fullstar_fullstar_fullstar_fullstar_none


Being married to a celebrity isn’t all it’s cracked up to be, especially when that celebrity has a very public affair with his co-star…

Alice McBride is determined that the one thing she won’t lose in her marriage breakup is Borne Manor, her beloved home, but she gets more than she bargained for when she rents it out for the summer and a sexy cowboy comes to stay.

Country music star Robinson Duff has had his own share of heartbreak and needs somewhere quiet to hide out for the summer. Neither Alice nor Robinson are in any position for romance; the timing is terrible and they’re both rebounding like out of control frisbees.

Can a holiday romance help mend their broken hearts. Or will it just make things even worse when the long hot summer comes to its inevitable end?


Continue reading