Review: The Queens of Innis Lear

cover-queens of innis learTitle: The Queens of Innis Lear
Author: Tessa Gratton
Series: – –
Genre: Fantasy
Length: Novel
Available: 27th March

stars_2


A kingdom at risk, a crown divided, a family drenched in blood.

The erratic decisions of a prophecy-obsessed king have drained Innis Lear of its wild magic, leaving behind a trail of barren crops and despondent subjects. Enemy nations circle the once-bountiful isle, sensing its growing vulnerability, hungry to control the ideal port for all trade routes.

The king’s three daughters—battle-hungry Gaela, master manipulator Reagan, and restrained, starblessed Elia—know the realm’s only chance of resurrection is to crown a new sovereign, proving a strong hand can resurrect magic and defend itself. But their father will not choose an heir until the longest night of the year, when prophecies align and a poison ritual can be enacted.

Refusing to leave their future in the hands of blind faith, the daughters of Innis Lear prepare for war—but regardless of who wins the crown, the shores of Innis will weep the blood of a house divided.


Continue reading

Advertisements

Review: Runaway Bride

cover-runaway brideTitle: Runaway Bride
Author: Mary Jayne Baker
Series: – –
Genre: Contemporary Romance
Length: Novel
Available: Now

stars_4


A heart-warming novel about love and new beginnings, this is the perfect book for spring!

Here comes the bride… but how long can she hide?

When Kitty Clayton flees her wedding with no money, no bank card and no phone, her life seems worryingly futureless. All she knows is, she’d rather sleep on the streets than go back home to cheating Ethan.

After picking her up hitch-hiking, widowed children’s author Jack Duffy takes Kitty under his wing, looking out for her until she gets back on her feet. And it’s not long before the two grow close…

But with Jack struggling to recover from the guilt he feels over his wife’s death and Kitty refusing to face up to the problems she’s running away from at home, will the two ever manage to share a happily ever after?


Continue reading

Review: …A Deadly Case of Murder

cover-a deadly case of murderTitle: Goodly and Grave in A Deadly Case of Murder
Author: Justine Windsor
Illustrator: Becka Moor
Series: Goodly and Grave #2
Age Range: 9+
Available: 27th July

stars_4


The second page-turning adventure in this sharp-witted, magical mystery series

When reports come in that valuable magical objects are being stolen, Goodly and Grave are on the case, but just when they think they know whodunit their prime suspect turns up – murdered! Will Lucy be able to track the real villain without putting herself in deadly danger?


Continue reading

Review: Goodly and Grave in a Bad Case of Kidnap

cover-a bad case of kidnapTitle: Goodly and Grave in a Bad Case of Kidnap
Author: Justine Windsor
Illustrator: Becka Moor
Series: Goodly and Grave #1
Genre: MG/Children’s Fantasy
Age Range: 9+
Available: Now

stars_4


Lucy Goodly is the new boot girl at Grave Hall, working for the cold, aloof Lord Grave. The other staff – Vonk the Butler, Mrs Crawley the cook and Violet the scullery maid – all seem friendly but Lucy soon notices that strange things are afoot in her new home – and not just Mrs Crawley’s experimental anchovy omelettes. There are moving statues, magical books and Lord Grave has a secret. Meanwhile, all over the country, children are vanishing. Could the mystery of the missing children be linked to the strange goings-on? Lucy is determined to find out…


Continue reading

Review: The Christmas Promise

cover-xmas promise.pngTitle: The Christmas Promise
Author: Sue Moorcroft
Series: – –
Genre: Women’s Fiction/Chick Lit
Length: Novel
Available: Now

star_fullstar_fullstar_fullstar_nonestar_none


For Ava Bliss, it’s going to be a Christmas to remember …

On a snowy December evening, Sam Jermyn steps into the life of bespoke hat maker Ava. Sparks fly, and not necessarily the good ones.

Times are tough for Ava – she’s struggling to make ends meet, her ex-boyfriend is a bully, and worst of all, it’s nearly Christmas.

So when Sam commissions Ava to make a hat for someone special, she makes a promise that will change her life. She just doesn’t know it yet…


Continue reading

Review: The Fox and the Ghost King

cover-the fox and the ghost king.pngTitle: The Fox and the Ghost King
Author: Michael Morpurgo
Illustrator: Michael Foreman
Genre: Children’s Fiction
Age Range: 6+
Available: 22nd Sept

star_fullstar_fullstar_fullstar_fullstar_none


A delightful tale of victory against all odds from master storyteller, Michael Morpurgo, lavishly illustrated by Michael Foreman.

“Every fox in the whole town, in the whole country just about, is a football fan… And we all have an impossible dream.”

In a cosy den under a garden shed lives a family of foxes. They love to watch football – all foxes do. But their favourite team keeps losing and losing, and it seems like things will never look up.

That is, until Daddy Fox finds the ghost of a king, buried underneath a car park. A king who wishes only to be free.

“Release me,” says the Ghost King, “and I can do anything. Just tell me your greatest wish.”

For these football-loving foxes, might everything be about to change…?


Continue reading

Review: Family Tree

cover-family treeTitle: Family Tree
Author: Susan Wiggs
Series: ?
Genre: Woman’s Fiction/Contemporary Romance
Length: Novel
Available: 28th July (UK)/9th Aug (US)

star_fullstar_fullstar_fullstar_fullstar_none


A heartwarming novel from the New York Times bestselling author. Perfect for fans of Love Letters and Summer at Willow Lake.

Annie Rush seems to have it all, a handsome husband and their fabulous life in Manhattan. But all of that is snatched away when she is involved is a life-changing accident. Awakening from a coma a year later, Annie finds that the life she knew has crumbled away.

In the throes of grief, Annie grasps her new reality – she has to start over from scratch, which means heading home. Annie couldn’t wait to escape the small town where she grew up, but now she finds herself warming to the close-knit community and its homespun values.

There’s also a face from the distant past − Donovan Lynch − and all the reasons she’s never quite forgotten him come flooding back. Annie expects to pull herself together and return to the city, but fate has other plans …


Continue reading