Review: Welcome to the Jungle

cover-welcome to the jungleTitle: Welcome to the Jungle
Author: Hacker Murphy
Illustrator: Lucie Ebrey
Series: Creeper Files #2
Age Range: 9+
Available: Now

stars_4


Mother Nature has never been creepier.

EXCLUSIVE: Investigator Hacker Murphy makes Creeper Files, detailing the nefarious activities of the most evil man/plant ever known, available for the first time. Hacker Murphy is chasing a story about a green-fingered villain who calls himself The Creeper, and these are his latest case files.

The Creeper is back, and this time he’s REALLY angry. His has complete control over all things green, and this time the gardening gloves are off! Warning: The Plantocalypse is about to begin.


Continue reading

Review: The Root of All Evil

cover-root of all evilTitle: The Root of All Evil
Author: Hacker Murphy
Illustrator: Lucie Ebrey
Series: Creeper Files #1
Age Range: 9+
Available: Now

stars_5


EXCLUSIVE: Investigator Hacker Murphy makes Creeper Files, detailing the nefarious activities of the most evil man/plant ever known, available for the first time.

There’s evil on the loose. Jake’s dog knows there’s a problem: why won’t he go into the garden on his own? Jake’s friends know there’s a problem: who’s the strange figure lurking in their garden? Jake knows there’s a problem: what is the terrifying viney creature he is running away from?! Jake’s mum has no idea there’s a problem: she’s a grown-up, you know what they’re like.

You’ll never look at a potato in the same way again …Perfect for fans of Doctor Who and Scooby Doo.


Continue reading

Review: Sky Thieves

cover-sky thievesTitle: Sky Thieves
Author: Dan Walker
Series: Sky Thieves #1
Genre: Children’s/MG Fantasy
Age Range: 11+
Available: Now

stars_3


Love Pirates of the Caribbean? Then prepared to be swept away by this new swashbuckling adventure series.

Talented debut author, Dan Walker, creates an imaginative world where thieves sail the skies in flying galleons-an action-packed adventure of epic scale.

Zoya DeLarose has no idea her life is about to change forever when a band of sky thieves ‘steal’ her away from her orphanage, landing up in the clouds, on board the Dragonfly’s deck. There, Zoya discovers a world of meteorite storms, sword fights, midnight raids, floating islands, and long lost treasure. But with a deadly enemy closing in, will Zoya find the strength to face her fears and unlock the key to her destiny, or will she fall from the skies with no one left to break her fall?


Continue reading

Review: Thunderstruck

cover-thunderstruckTitle: Thunderstruck
Author: Ali Sparkes
Series: – –
Genre: Children’s┬áParanormal Fiction
Age Range: 9+
Available: Now

stars_4


What if your new best friend was a ghost?

Getting struck by lightning whilst huddling under a tree isn’t exactly the way Alisha and Theo would have chosen to get out of sports day . . .

Surviving the strike makes them see life differently. It also makes them notice Doug and Lizzie. Struck by lightning under that same tree on the common in 1975, the two teenagers have been hanging out there ever since.

Doug and Lizzie are funny, clever, brave – and quite happy about making friends with a pair of ten-year-olds. OK, fair point, they are dead, and Doug’s trousers are worryingly flared. But you can’t have everything.

But something sinister is going on at school – although only Theo and Alisha seem to be able to see it. What can it mean when ragged faceless entities keep staring in through the windows?

Not all ghosts are friendly like Doug and Lizzie . . . but are these phantoms really the harbingers of doom for all the kids at Beechwood Junior?

A fun and fast-paced ghostly mystery with lightning strikes, floating phantoms, and four fantastic friends just trying to get on with their everyday lives . . . or deaths . . .

From the prize-winning author of Frozen in Time, the Shapeshifter series, and many more!


Continue reading

Review: Mission Gone Wild

cover-mission-gone-wildTitle: Mission Gone Wild
Author: Tamsin Cooke
Series: The Scarlet Files #2
Genre: Children’s/MG Paranormal Adventure
Age Range: 10+
Available: Now

star_fullstar_fullstar_fullstar_fullstar_none


Schoolgirl by day, cat burglar by night…

Scarlet McCall is on her most dangerous mission yet. A cursed dagger has fallen into the hands of master criminal, Delgado. Now Scar must retrieve it before Delgado unleashes its power with a deadly sacrifice. It’s a daring mission, but Scar is no ordinary thief: she has new found magical abilities. The problem is, she can’t always control them.

Can Scar use her stealth, cunning, and mysterious powers to steal the dagger, and be back in time for school on Monday?


Continue reading

Review: Black Light Express

cover-black light express.jpgTitle: Black Light Express
Author: Philip Reeve
Series: Railhead #2
Genre: YA Sci-Fi
Length: Novel
Available: Now

star_fullstar_fullstar_fullstar_fullstar_none


There was nothing, and then there was a train. A train with two passengers: a petty thief from a dead-end town, and an android girl who could be more human than the rest of us. Join Zen and Nova as they find out what really lies beyond the end of the universe . . .

Take a ride in Philip Reeve’s incredible imagination as he returns with this stellar follow-up to Railhead. Full of extraordinary beings and utterly real, complex characters, of thrills and thoughtful moments, this is a stunning step beyond the universe which will appeal to both sci-fi fans and foes alike.


Continue reading

Review: Sky Hawk

cover-sky hawk
Title: Sky Hawk
Author: Gill Lewis
Series: – –
Genre: Children’s Fiction
Age Range: 9+
Available: Now

star_fullstar_fullstar_fullstar_fullstar_none


When Callum and his friends find Iona on Callum’s farm they try to chase her back into the village. But Iona runs from them up into the hills. It is late and dark and snow lies in the mountain gullies. Worried for Iona’s safety, Callum follows to find her shivering with cold but refusing to leave. She is guarding a secret hidden in the forest above the dark waters of the loch. So they make a deal. Iona shares the secret and in return Callum allows her back onto the farm.

They form a deep bond of friendship and make a promise to keep their secret safe. It is a promise that will change Callum’s world forever . . .

She turned her head, and fixed me with her brilliant yellow eyes. She looked right into me. And suddenly I knew then, in that one moment, I was as much part of her world as she was of mine.

Soar above the clouds in this enthralling tale of friendship, loyalty, and hope.


Continue reading