Review: The Ice Swans

cover-ice swansTitle: The Ice Swans
Author: Anne Booth
Illustrator: Rosie Butcher
Series: Magical Kingdom of Birds
Age Range: 7+
Available: Now

stars_4


To the Keeper of this Book – it’s time for you to visit the magical Kingdom waiting within. Believe in yourself – that will give you wings to fly!

When Maya receives a special colouring book – The Magical Kingdom of Birds – she is transported to a beautiful realm filled with magnificent birds and their fairy friends. But the Kingdom is in trouble, wicked Lord Astor has frozen the Diamond Lake and turned its beautiful swans into ice statues. Can Maya, with the help of her friends Willow and Patch, break the enchantment and save the day? 

Packed with beautiful illustrations, information on the real birds that inspired the story, and a special colouring page!


Continue reading

Advertisements

Review: Jungle Curse

cover-jungle curseTitle: Jungle Curse
Author: Tamsin Cooke
Series: Stunt Double #2
Genre: Middle Grade Adventure
Age Range: 9+
Available: Now

stars_4


An action-packed adventure story with an exciting film location setting. 

Fearless stunt double Finn is in Thailand working on the latest Rio Dinoni blockbuster. It’s a dream job, but are the whispers around set true? Is the film really cursed? When stunt, after stunt goes wrong; filming starts to get really dangerous. So far, Finn’s survived all sorts of smashes and crashes, even an elephant stampede, but it’s the secrets on set that might finally break him.


Continue reading

Review: The Legend of Kevin

cover-legend of kevin.jpgTitle: The Legend of Kevin
Author: Philip Reeve
Illustrator: Sarah McIntyre
Series: Legend of Kevin #1
Age Range: 7+
Available: Now

stars_5


Max is a young boy living in an ordinary tower block. He longs for adventure in his life – then one day – DOOF! – a flying pony called Kevin crashes into his flat, blown in by a magical storm! 

The storm causes a huge flood and soon Max’s town submerged by water. Luckily for the town, Max has a flying pony to come to the rescue, and luckily for Kevin, he has a new best friend and a constant supply of his favourite thing – biscuits. 

Together Max and Kevin will embark on many wild adventures together . . . 

This is the start of a hilarious new series brought to you by the creative and inspiring duo Philip Reeve and Sarah McIntyre and is packed with amazing two-colour illustrations.


Continue reading

Review: Walls

cover-wallsTitle: Walls
Author: Emma Fischel
Series: – –
Genre: Children’s Fantasy
Age Range: 9+
Available: Now

stars_4


An unforgettable hero. A fresh and unique voice. 

Meet Ned Harrison Arkle-Smith – he’s grumpy, bossy, and exasperating, but you can’t help liking him. Oh, and he’s just discovered he can walk through walls . . . 
Ned’s world is collapsing. His parents have split up, his best friend is behaving strangely, he has an awful new neighbour, and Snapper is making his life a misery.

In fact NOBODY is behaving the way Ned wants. 

And then there’s the wall. Right down the middle of Ivy Lodge and cutting up Ned’s life. A big brick reminder of all that’s going wrong in his life. Until, that is, the night when Ned discovers he has an astonishing new skill . . . 

A fun and intriguing concept that readers will delight in. Perfect for fans of Ross Welford and Lara Williamson.


Continue reading

Review: The Sleepy Hummingbirds

cover-sleepy hummingbirdsTitle: The Sleepy Hummingbirds
Series: Magical Kingdom of Birds
Author: Anne Booth
Illustrator: Rosie Butcher
Age Range: 7+
Available: Now

stars_4


To the Keeper of this Book – it’s time for you to visit the magical Kingdom waiting within. Believe in yourself – that will give you wings to fly!

When Maya receives a special colouring book – The Magical Kingdom of Birds – she is transported to a beautiful realm filled with magnificent birds and their fairy friends. But the kingdom is in trouble – evil Lord Astor has a plan to capture and cage the tiniest residents, the hummingbirds – and as Keeper of the Book it’s up to Maya to protect them. 

Packed with beautiful illustrations, information on the real birds that inspired the story, and includes a special colouring page!


Continue reading

Review: Station Zero

cover-station zeroTitle: Station Zero
Author: Philip Reeve
Series: Railhead #3
Genre: Teen Sci-Fi
Length: Novel
Available: Now

stars_4


The stunning conclusion to the acclaimed and prizewinning Railhead trilogy.

What happens after the adventure of a lifetime?

For Zen, it’s a safe, comfortable life of luxury. But it’s not what Zen wants. He misses the thrill of riding the rails, of dodging danger, and of breathing the air of different planets. Most of all of course he misses Nova – lost to him forever in a distant world. But then one day a mysterious message arrives – and that’s all Zen needs to head right off, ready for anything. Except that no one could be ready for what he finds…

Thrilling, thought-provoking, and breathtaking, this finale to the Railhead trilogy weaves a web of wonder, full of characters and events you will never forget.


Continue reading

Review: Sky Dancer

cover-sky dancerTitle: Sky Dancer
Author: Gill Lewis
Series: – –
Genre: Children’s Fiction
Age Range: 9+
Available: Now

stars_4


Joe has always loved the moorlands above his home: the wildness, the freedom, the peace. But since his father died, everything has changed, and the moors are no longer a place of refuge.

Now the whole community is divided over the fate of the hen harriers that nest up there in the heather – and Joe is stuck right in the middle, with a choice to make, and a huge secret to keep. Joe can’t do what’s right for everyone. But can he find the strength to fight for what he really believes in?

Expert storyteller Gill Lewis presents a beautiful tale of loss, expectation, and change – with an important and thought-provoking environmental message.


Continue reading