Review: …A Deadly Case of Murder

cover-a deadly case of murderTitle: Goodly and Grave in A Deadly Case of Murder
Author: Justine Windsor
Illustrator: Becka Moor
Series: Goodly and Grave #2
Age Range: 9+
Available: 27th July

stars_4


The second page-turning adventure in this sharp-witted, magical mystery series

When reports come in that valuable magical objects are being stolen, Goodly and Grave are on the case, but just when they think they know whodunit their prime suspect turns up – murdered! Will Lucy be able to track the real villain without putting herself in deadly danger?


Continue reading

Review: Goodly and Grave in a Bad Case of Kidnap

cover-a bad case of kidnapTitle: Goodly and Grave in a Bad Case of Kidnap
Author: Justine Windsor
Illustrator: Becka Moor
Series: Goodly and Grave #1
Genre: MG/Children’s Fantasy
Age Range: 9+
Available: Now

stars_4


Lucy Goodly is the new boot girl at Grave Hall, working for the cold, aloof Lord Grave. The other staff – Vonk the Butler, Mrs Crawley the cook and Violet the scullery maid – all seem friendly but Lucy soon notices that strange things are afoot in her new home – and not just Mrs Crawley’s experimental anchovy omelettes. There are moving statues, magical books and Lord Grave has a secret. Meanwhile, all over the country, children are vanishing. Could the mystery of the missing children be linked to the strange goings-on? Lucy is determined to find out…


Continue reading

Review: The Silver Unicorn

cover-the silver unicornTitle: The Silver Unicorn
Series: Evie’s Magic Bracelet #2
Authors: Jessica Ennis-Hill and Elen Caldecott
Illustrator: Erica-Jane Waters
Age Range: 7+
Available: Now

stars_3-5


The first in a magical, exciting series by Olympic gold medallist Jessica Ennis-Hill. Perfect for fans of Rainbow Magic and My Little Pony!

What if you had a special bracelet that gave you the power to talk to animals?

One morning Evie gets a parcel in the post from her Grandma Iris in Jamaica. Inside layers of tissue and colourful ribbons is a beautiful bracelet!

Evie’s going to need the bracelet – and a brave heart – when her friend meets a frightened silver unicorn. But she’s always ready to have some magical adventures!

This is the first in a sensational seven-book series by Jessica Ennis-Hill, World Book Day ambassador and inspiration for kids everywhere.


Continue reading

Review: Stolen Magic

cover-steaing-magicTitle: Stealing Magic
Author: Alex C. Vick
Series: Legacy of Androva #1
Genre: Fantasy
Age Range: 9+
Available: Now

star_fullstar_fullstar_fullstar_halfstar_none


What would you do? Would you open your eyes, if you were the one that heard them? Two magic-takers from another world, arguing about whether they can collect what they came for before you wake up. It sounds like a crazy dream, or a practical joke. But what if the air around you started to vibrate with an invisible force field? What if, all at once, it felt terrifying yet familiar too?

You would have no way of knowing that your life would change forever. That this discovery would set you on a path no-one from our world has taken for centuries. Towards a deadly enemy, and a fight that you will almost certainly lose. All you know is that your heart is beating so fast you’re worried they will hear it, and your brain is starting to buzz as the force field reaches it. Would you open your eyes?

Join Jax and Shannon as they live through the most exciting and terrifying ten days of their lives (so far). This is the first book in the Legacy of Androva series.


Continue reading

Review: Enchanted Glass

cover-enchanted glass.jpgTitle: Enchanted Glass
Author: Diana Wynne Jones
Series: – –
Genre: Children’s Fantasy
Age Range: 11+
Length: Novel
Available: Now

star_fullstar_fullstar_fullstar_nonestar_none


When Andrew Hope’s magician grandfather dies, he leaves his house and field-of-care to his grandson who spent much of his childhood at the house. Into this mix comes young Aidan Cain, who turns up from the orphanage asking for safety. Who he is and why he’s there is unclear, but a strong connection between the two becomes apparent.


Continue reading

Review: Withering Rose

cover-withering roseTitle: Withering Rose
Author: Kaitlyn Davis
Series: Once Upon a Curse #2
Genre: YA Fantasy
Length: Novel
Available: Now

star_fullstar_fullstar_fullstar_fullstar_none


What if Beauty was cursed, and the Beast was the only one who could save her? Don’t miss WITHERING ROSE, a dystopian romance from bestselling author Kaitlyn Davis that reimagines the classic fairy tale of Beauty & The Beast.

“As the heat finally disappeared, I felt the bloom blossom in the very core of my soul, a rose just like my name–a ticking clock hidden behind a façade of beauty. From that moment on, my life would become a countdown, and all I could do was wait and watch as the petals of time slowly started to fall.”

Omorose Bouchene has a secret–magic. There’s only one problem. At the age of seven, an earthquake struck, catapulting her into a new world. A land made of skyscrapers and cell phones. Fast cars and fluorescent lights. A land where magic isn’t supposed to exist and anyone who wields it is the enemy.

But after ten years of hiding, she’s desperate to find a place where she can be free. Because all magic comes with a curse, and her curse is time–every ounce of power she uses strips days off of her life. The clock is winding down, and the only option left is to escape to the realm of the Beast. But the king of monsters isn’t what he seems. And the more Omorose opens her heart, the more she comes to realize that the only person she may need to fear is herself.

*This is the second book in Once Upon A Curse, a series of interconnected stand-alone novels all set in the same fantasy universe.


Continue reading

Review: The Galloway Road

cover-galloway roadTitle: The Galloway Road
Author: Catherine Adams
Series: Solitary Travelers Collection
Genre: Fantasy
Length: Novella
Available: Now

star_fullstar_fullstar_fullstar_nonestar_none


Renna has just qualified as a mage and been offered a lucrative job halfway across the country. But getting there is another matter entirely, for the Galloway is lined with the bodies of those who dared to cross her new employer, and old songs relate tales of long-dead kings and graveyard courts.

Hired to protect her on the journey is a grumpy mercenary who spends more time drinking than talking and seems to face his work with the enthusiasm most men reserve for their deaths. She’s also joined by an irresponsible duo of musicians who break hearts with their music and break purses with their gambling. Renna herself is struggling with personal matters, and the company and difficult journey aren’t helping.

All Renna has to do is take the Galloway Road from the coast to Gibbet Rock, but she’s far from convinced she’ll make it through so much as a single day.


Continue reading